Sources for Technical Reports
| I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
This page contains links to Web sources of technical report literature and offers advice on how to obtain technical report literature in hard copy both at UVA and elsewhere. These links are primarily to large indexes or general sources of report literature; links to technical reports in specific subject areas are usually included with those subjects in the subject portions of these web pages.
You may also search the WWW for other technical report sources using Google or the Ixquick Parallel Web Search Service or similar web search engines.
If you would like a thorough discussion of what consitutes a technical report and how to write one, a guide called Engineering Technical Reports is available from the Colorado State University Writing Center.
- arXiv.org e-Print Archive
Online access to electronic versions of articles, preprints and reports in the areas of physics, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computer science and quantitative biology. - Bibliographies of Technical Reports
A searchable index to technical report literature sources, obtained mostly from the Computer Science Technical Report Archive. - Defense Technical Information Center
DTIC's Technical Report Collection includes the last 11 years of unclassified, unlimited technical report citations to full text reports. The scope of DTIC's collection includes areas normally associated with Defense research; however, since DoD's interests are widespread, the collection also contains information relating to: hard sciences such as Biological and Medical Sciences and Environmental Pollution and Control; Behavioral and Social Sciences; DoD Directives and Instructions; budget estimates and Program Element Descriptive Summaries (PEDS); Conference and Symposia Proceedings; and patents and patent applications. - DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information
Databases
The U.S. Department of Energy provides several databases citing DOE technical reports and other documents in a variety of energy and environmental areas of research, some dating back as far as 1948. See also the link to the ETDEWEB, an international database including information on the environmental impacts of energy production and use. - EPA Information Sources EPA Publications
A gateway page to thousands of EPA publications and information products available both online and in print. - GrayLIT Network
The GrayLIT Network is the world's most comprehensive portal to Federal gray literature. By offering a mode of communication for this hard-to-find class of literature, the GrayLIT Network enables convenient access by the American public to government information. - IBM
Technical Paper Search
Provides the scientific community with access to technical reports written by members of the IBM Research community. Some reports are available for download. Once a technical report is published in either a journal or conference proceedings, it is sometimes replaced with a reference to the external source. - ICASE Technical
Reports
Abstract Lists for ICASE Technical Reports, as well as, full electronic versions in postscript and pdf formats are available here by year of publication. - NACA Technical Reports
The National Aeronautics and Space Act of 1958 created the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) from the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA). As NASA's predecessor organization, NACA was chartered in 1915 and was operational from 1917 until 1958. NACA played an integral role in the development of the United States' fledgling aeronautics industry as the main research body for a collection of federal, commercial and university interests. The main product of NACA's research was its multi-tiered report series, many of which are available in scanned format here. - NASA Center for
Aerospace Information (CASI) Technical Report Server
The CASI TRS database contains bibliographic citations and abstracts for publicly available aerospace documents, journal articles, and conference proceedings. - NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Technical Report Server
The Jet Propulsion Laboratory Technical Report Server currently contains close to 8,000 online reports. This "database of Abstracts, Citations and full text Technical Reports written by and for the scientific and technical community" is searchable by keyword, and users may scan technical report abstracts and citations by year. - NASA Scientific and
Technical Aerospace Reports (STAR) Index Online
A link to page images in Adobe Acrobat format of issues of the printed STAR bibliography. - NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
A keyword searchable database of the technical report literature produced by the various NASA component organizations. - NCSTRAL - Networked Computer
Science Technical Reports Library
NCSTRL (pronounced "ancestral") is an international collection of computer science technical reports from CS departments and industrial and government research laboratories, made available for non-commercial and eduational use. - NPARC
Technical Report Server
The NPARC Alliance is a partnership between the NASA Glenn Research Center (GRC) and the Arnold Engineering Development Center (AEDC) dedicated to the establishment of a national, applications oriented computational fluid dynamics (CFD) capability, centered on the NPARC computer program. - NTIS Web Site
Gateway to information about NTIS and its services, along with a searchable index to the last month's worth of new additions to their collection.
UVA Faculty and Students also now have access to the NTIS database from 1964 to the present using Engineering Village. - Science
and Engineering Current Awareness Metapage
From the Scout Report, this page contains links to a variety of "current awareness" resources, including technical reports servers. - Scientific and Technical Information
Network (STINET)
STINET provides access to citations to unclassified unlimited documents that have been entered into DTIC's Technical Reports Collection since 1985 as well as some full text reports for those citations. You may order documents online. - Society of
Manufacturing Engineers Technical Papers Search Engine
SME publishes hundreds of technical papers annually detailing the theories, applications, and innovations in manufacturing -- timely material for students, instructors, researchers, and manufacturing professionals. - Society of Petroleum Engineers Technical
Reports
Over 30,000 papers available for review and purchase. UVA users should request papers via Interlibrary Services. -
Virtual Technical Reports Center
The Institutions listed here provide either full-text reports, or searchable extended abstracts of their technical reports on the World Wide Web. Because many institutions do not distinguish between technical reports and other types of research publications, this site also contains links to preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports of all kinds. - WATERS - Wide Area TEchnical Report Service
A WAIS-based distributed technical reports repository. -
Yahoo - Technical Reports
Links to collections of technical reports, mostly in computer science, but also useful for some European countries and companies.
Questions? Call the Information Desk at 924-3628.
