Sources for Scientific Standards
| I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
This page contains links to Web resources dealing with scientific and other standards, as well as to the home pages of national and international standards organizations.
The Shaver Engineering Library at the University of Kentucky maintains an extensive listing of standards resources and organizations. This is a good starting point for locating particular standards or suppliers, if you cannot find what you are looking for in the major resources listed below.
You may also search the WWW for other standards sources using Google or the Ixquick Parallel Web Search Service or similar web search engines. Please ask a library staff member for assistance, if you are having trouble locating the standard you need.
Standards not owned by the University Libraries may be ordred for you or, in some cases, borrowed thru Interlibrary Services. Or in many cases you may order a copy of a standard via the suppliers listed below for a fee.
- ANSI Online
The home page for the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). Includes a searchable index to ANSI standards and how to order them. - ASTM
Web site for the American Society for Testing and Materials. Includes a searchable index. Note that the library's reference collection includes a set of ASTM standards in printed form, call number TA401.A653. - British Standards Institution
The British Standards Institution (BSI) is one of the world's leading standards and quality services organisations. Formed in 1901 and incorporated under Royal Charter in 1929, BSI is the oldest national standards-making body in the world. BSI works with manufacturing and service industries, businesses and governments to facilitate the production of British, European and international standards. - CSS|Info
Search for and download standards in all areas of science and technology. Sign up for standards alerting service. Downloading and electronic ordering requires credit card payment. - Document
Center
Searchable database for determining what standards exist on a given topic. - EINet
Galaxy Index - Computer Technology - Standards
An extensive list of links to sources of information about computer technology standards. - IEEE Standards
The above link is a searchable index to the IEEE Standards Catalog and related products and services. UVA faculty, staff and students may access IEEE Standards in full via the IEEEXplore Database. - ILI Standards Infobase
ILI are specialists in worldwide hardcopy Standards and Specifications and hold huge stocks for sale from distribution centres in Europe and the US. ILI also publish a range of engineering, technical and regulatory databases and is a leading supplier of all worldwide hardcopy technical Standards (DIN, ISO, BSI, ASTM, NFPA, API, IEC, ASME, etc.) - ISO Home Page
The home page for the International Organization for Standardization, including their catalogue of standards (searchable) and information about how to place an order for their standards. - Military Specifications and Standards on the Web
Access to nearly 100,000 Department of Defense Specifications and Standards. See also STINET below. - NISO - National Information Standards Organization
The National Information Standards Organization develops and promotes technical standards used in a wide variety of information services. NISO has developed standards for Information Retrieval (Z39.50), 12083 (an SGML Tool), Z39.2 (Information Interchange Format), Codes for Languages and Countries, and Z39.18 (Scientific and Technical Reports). Click on the NISO Press icon for links to free downloadable copies of NISO standards and documents. - NIST - National Institute of Standards and
Technology
The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), formerly the National Bureau of Standards (NBS), was established by Congress in 1901 to support industry, commerce, scientific institutions, and all branches of Government. - National Standards Systems Network
A searchable index to military and industrial standards maintained by ANSI and NIST. Enhanced features available to subscribers. - STINET
Public STINET is available to the general public, free of charge. It provides access to citations to unclassified unlimited documents that have been entered into DTIC's Technical Reports Collection since December 1974, as well as the electronic full-text of many of these documents. Public STINET also provides access to the Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals, Staff College Automated Military Periodical Index, DoD Index to Specifications and Standards, and Research and Development Descriptive Summaries. - Technical Standards
The Department of Energy's Technical Standards Website contains a great range of handbooks designed to bring a consensus of standards, to develop needed technical standards that are not readily available, and to communicate these standards to those who use them. - World Standards Services Network
World Standards Services Network (WSSN) is a network of publicly accessible World Wide Web servers of standards organizations around the world. Through the Web sites of its members, WSSN provides information on international, regional and national standardization and related activities and services. - Yahoo - Standards
Links to sources of information about standards and standards-making organizations.
Questions? Call the Information Desk at 924-3628.
