Sports Science Research Guide
| Subject Librarian: Fred O'Bryant | I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
| Recommended Reference Works | |
|---|---|
|
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics CRCnetBASE CRC Press Handbook and Reference Collection in addition to ENGnetBASE ENGnetBASE CRC Press Engineering Handbook and Reference Collection Knovel Library Engineering and Science Handbook and Reference Collection |
Referex Large collection of engineering e-books and references Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations Safari Tech Books Online |
Databases / Indexes
Book Indexes
Search these databases for books.
-
VIRGO
Information on over 4 million books, journals, and other items held in the University of Virginia's libraries, including business, health sciences, and law. - Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical
Information Catalogue
Search for books, technical reports, journals and conference proceedings in all areas of science, engineering, health sciences and agriculture. - Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. These resources include many hard-to-find and scarce items often not readily available elsewhere. UVA faculty and students may request books from CRL's collections via Interlibrary Services. - Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering
and Technology
The Linda Hall Library, a private institution funded by endowment, serves the scientific research community as a resource for engineering and technical materials, including over 600,000 volumes, 1.1 million microforms, U.S. Patents since 1946, and subscriptions to 16,500 journals. - WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Contains records from thousands of North American libraries.
Conference Proceedings Indexes
Search this database for citations to conference proceedings papers.
- Conference Papers Index 1982+ (CSA)
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world.
- PapersFirst 1993+ (FS)
Citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia. Updated monthly.
Current Awareness Services
Many journal publishers and database vendors offer alerting services which you can use to have journal tables of contents or other information about articles of interest E-mailed to you on a periodic basis. Some of these services appear below. You can learn more about keeping current in your field at Alison McNab's Keeping Your Research Up to Date web page or at the Engineering Current Awareness Services web page from the Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library (EEVL).
- Amedeo.com
- Cambridge Journals Online
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
- EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service
- Emerald Alerts
- Infotrieve
- Kluwer Alert Services
- Ovid
- Oxford Journals Content Alerting
- SARA - Scholarly Articles Research Alerting
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
- Springer Link Alert
Journal Indexes
- Search these indexes for citations to journal articles.
- To get more information about a database, click the information icon
(
).
- CAB Direct
With over four million records dating back to 1973, CAB Direct covers research and development literature in the fields of leisure, human health, human nutrition, tourism and related topics. - Compendex 1969+ (Engineering Village)
The world's premiere interdisciplinary engineering database. Coverage of sports topics tends to be more technical (mathematical) than in more general indexes. More emphasis on biomedical and bioengineering aspects in addition to design of machinery and equipment.
- Physical Education Index 1970+ (CSA)
Covers physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance, sports law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, sport sociology/psychology, health education and physical therapy. - PsycINFO 1872+ (Ebsco)
Descriptions of journal articles, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters and books in psychology and related fields. Sports topics include motivation, training, behavior, skill acquisition, sports as therapy, stress, crowd behavior, etc. - Sociological Abstracts 1963+ (CSA)
Sociology and related fields. Includes information about all aspects of the sociology of sports, fan behavior, class and national attitudes toward sports, etc. - Sport Discus Database 1973+ (Ebsco)
Serves as a comprehensive reference library for all aspects of sport, physical fitness, sport science and recreation. - Web of Science (Science Citation Index) 1987+
Contains Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. SCI tends toward biomedical issues in its coverage of sports topics. SSCI includes marketing, sports psychology, philosophy of sports, and sociological issues related to athletes and athletics. AHCI covers similar topics and adds historical and literary aspects.
Comprehensive Resources
- Argus Clearinghous - Sports
- BUBL LINK - Sport
- Coaches' Info Service
- FirstGov for Science
- Galaxy - Sports
- National Science Digital Library
- Open Directory Project - Sports
- SPONET - Sport Science on the Net
- Virtual Library of Sport
- Yahoo! Sports Science
General Information
- How Things Work: Balls, Birdies, and Frisbees
- How Things Work: Bouncing Balls
- MEDLINEplus: Sports Fitness
- Sports Science
Particular Sports
Auto and Drag Racing
Baseball
- Baseball Index
- Baseball Links
- Breaking Down Baseball
- Physics of Baseball
- Physics of Pitching
- Science of Baseball
- Science of Baseball
Basketball
- Geometry in Basketball
- International Society of Biomechanics in Sports - Basketball
- Physics of Basketball
Bicycling
Bowling
Bungee Jumping
Castelling (Human Pyramids)
Cheerleading
Climbing
Cricket
Croquet
Curling
Diving
Figure Skating
Football
Golf
Hockey
Hurling
Judo and Other Martial Arts
Juggling
Kayaking
Lawn Bowling
Motocross
Mushing (Dog Sledding)
Pool and Billiards
Roller Coasters and Amusement Park Rides
- Amusement Park Physics
- Effects of New Technology on Roller Coaster Thrills, Safety and Economics
- Physics of Roller Coasters
- Roller Coaster Database
- Roller Coasters: Inventing the Scream Machine
Rowing
Rugby
Running and Running Shoes
Skateboarding
Skiing (Snow)
Skydiving
Soccer
Surfing
Volleyball
Water Polo
White Water Rafting
Questions? Call the Information Desk at 924-3628.
