Mechanical Engineering Research Guide
| Subject Librarian: Fred O'Bryant | I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
| Recommended Reference Works | |
|---|---|
|
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics CRCnetBASE CRC Press Handbook and Reference Collection in addition to ENGnetBASE ENGnetBASE CRC Press Engineering Handbook and Reference Collection Knovel Library Engineering and Science Handbook and Reference Collection |
Referex Large collection of engineering e-books and references Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations Safari Tech Books Online |
Databases / Indexes
Book Indexes
Search these databases for books.
- VIRGO
Information on over 4 million books, journals, and other items held in the University of Virginia's libraries, including business, health sciences, and law. - Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical
Information Catalogue
Search for books, technical reports, journals and conference proceedings in all areas of science, engineering, health sciences and agriculture. - Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. These resources include many hard-to-find and scarce items often not readily available elsewhere. UVA faculty and students may request books from CRL's collections via Interlibrary Services. - Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering
and Technology
The Linda Hall Library, a private institution funded by endowment, serves the scientific research community as a resource for engineering and technical materials, including over 600,000 volumes, 1.1 million microforms, U.S. Patents since 1946, and subscriptions to 16,500 journals. - WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Contains records from thousands of North American libraries.
Conference Proceedings Indexes
Search this database for citations to conference proceedings papers.
- Conference Papers Index 1982+ (CSA)
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world.
- PapersFirst 1993+ (FS)
Citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia. Updated monthly.
Current Awareness Services
Many journal publishers and database vendors offer alerting services which you can use to have journal tables of contents or other information about articles of interest E-mailed to you on a periodic basis. Some of these services appear below. You can learn more about keeping current in your field at Alison McNab's Keeping Your Research Up to Date web page or at the Engineering Current Awareness Services web page from the Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library (EEVL).
- Amedeo.com
- Cambridge Journals Online
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
- EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service
- Emerald Alerts
- Infotrieve
- Kluwer Alert Services
- Ovid
- Oxford Journals Content Alerting
- SARA - Scholarly Articles Research Alerting
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
- Springer Link Alert
Journal Indexes
-Search these indexes for citations to journal articles.
-To get more information about a database, click the information icon (
).
-Additional mechanical engineering databases are available on the Brown Library
Databases page.
-Use our Find@UVA Journal Finder
page to locate E-journals, E-magazines, and E-newspapers.
- Aerospace and High Technology Database 1986+ (CSA)
Good database for graduate research. The Aerospace Database provides bibliographic coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. The database also covers technology development and applications in complementary and supporting fields such as chemistry, geosciences, physics, communications, and electronics. In addition to periodic literature, the database also includes coverage of reports issued by NASA, other U.S. government agencies, international institutions, universities, and private firms.
- ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies
& Engineering 1981+ (CSA)
Includes new technologies in all areas of engineering, science and allied subject areas. - Compendex 1969+ (Engineering Village)
The world's premiere interdisciplinary engineering database.
- Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts (CSA) 1966+
Best database for graduate research. Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the serials literature in mechanical and transportation engineering and their complementary fields.
- Mechanical Engineering Abstracts 1981-2002 (CSA)
Good database for graduate level research. Surveys and summarizes the worldwide literature in mechanical engineering, engineering management, and production engineering. Presenting theoretical perspectives as well as specific applications, this database contains reports on key developments published in journals, articles, and conference papers.
- METADEX 1966+ (CSA)
Metals and metallurgy.
- SAE Publications Search
Use SAE's own search engine to search for journal articles, books, special technical publications, conference proceedings articles, standards and other materials published by the Society of Automotive Engineers. Note that this information is often not well indexed elsewhere and may be difficult to locate using standard bibliographic databases. - Web of Science (Science Citation Index) 1987+
Containing Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Web of Science offers multidisciplinary searching and seamless access to cited reference searching. The WOS databases include bibliographic and citation information for articles from over 5,700 science and engineering journals, as well as social sciences and humanities journals. Updated weekly.
Web Resources
Comprehensive Subject Lists
- Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library
- EINet Galaxy - Mechanical Engineering
- ERAU Virtual Libraries (Aerospace)
- FirstGov for Science
- GlobalSpec - Components and Suppliers Database
- iCrank.com
- National Science Digital Library
- WWW Virtual Library - Mechanical Engineering
- Yahoo Index - Mechanical Engineering
Useful Pages
- eMachineShop
Allows you to design and submit orders for custom-made parts. - Introduction
to Machine Tools
Illustrations and descriptions of standard machine shop tools and their uses. From MIT; local machine shops may differ. - Trace Research and Development Center
Information on designing for persons with disabilities from the University of Wisconsin - Madison.
Organizations
- CIRS.net (Scientific Organization Portal)
- ASHRAE - American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers
- ASME - American Society of Mechanical Engineers
- Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering
- Institution of Mechanical Engineers - Great Britain
- National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
- SAE International Society of Automotive Engineers
- Scholarly Societies Project - Mechanical Engineering - Links to many organizations worldwide
Patents
Standards
Questions? Call the Brown Library Information Desk at 924-3628.
