Mathematics Research Guide
| Subject Librarian: Fred O'Bryant | I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
| Recommended Reference Works | |
|---|---|
|
AMS 2000 Mathematics Subject Classification Dictionary of Applied Math for Engineers and Scientists CRCnetBASE CRC Press Handbook and Reference Collection in addition to ENGnetBASE ENGnetBASE CRC Press Engineering Handbook and Reference Collection Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations |
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms Safari Tech Books Online |
Databases / Indexes
Book Indexes
Search these databases for books.
- VIRGO
Information on over 4 million books, journals, and other items held in the University of Virginia's libraries, including business, health sciences, and law. - MathSciNet 1940+
From the American Mathematical Society, this database is based on the data in Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, leading publications that catalog and review research literature in mathematics. - Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical
Information Catalogue
Search for books, technical reports, journals and conference proceedings in all areas of science, engineering, health sciences and agriculture. - Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. These resources include many hard-to-find and scarce items often not readily available elsewhere. UVA faculty and students may request books from CRL's collections via Interlibrary Services. - Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering
and Technology
The Linda Hall Library, a private institution funded by endowment, serves the scientific research community as a resource for engineering and technical materials, including over 600,000 volumes, 1.1 million microforms, U.S. Patents since 1946, and subscriptions to 16,500 journals. - Mathematical Fiction
Compiled by Alex Kasman of the College of Charleston, this database of nearly 500 stories and novels is an attempt to collect information about all significant references to mathematics in fiction. - WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Contains records from thousands of North American libraries.
Conference Proceedings Indexes
Search this database for citations to conference proceedings papers.
- MathSciNet 1940+
From the American Mathematical Society, this database is based on the data in Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, leading publications that catalog and review research literature in mathematics. - Conference Papers Index 1982+ (CSA)
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world.
- PapersFirst 1993+ (FS)
Citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia. Updated monthly.
Current Awareness Services
- Many journal publishers and database vendors offer alerting services which you can use to have journal tables of contents or other information about articles of interest E-mailed to you on a periodic basis. Some of these services appear below. You can learn more about keeping current in your field at Alison McNab's Keeping Your Research Up to Date web page or at the Mathematics Current Awareness Services web page from the Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library (EEVL).
- Amedeo.com
- Cambridge Journals Online
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
- EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service
- Emerald Alerts
- Infotrieve
- Kluwer Alert Services
- Ovid
- Oxford Journals Content Alerting
- SARA - Scholarly Articles Research Alerting
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
- Springer Link Alert
- Web of Science
- Wiley Interscience
Journal Indexes
- Search these indexes for citations to journal articles.
- To get more information about a database, click the information icon
(
).
- Additional mathematics databases are available on the SEL
Databases page.
- Current Index to Statistics - Online access UVA only. Provides comprehensive indexing for the field of statistics, including probability, and more limited coverage of ancillary topics of interest to statisticians, e.g. survey methodology, modeling, etc. There is also a List of journals indexed in CIS. See also printed index: SciEngr Reference -- Z 7552 .C8
- INSPEC 1969+ (Engineering Village)
Choose this database for mathematical physics topics.
- INSPEC Archive Science Abstracts 1898-1968 (Ovid)
The Inspec Archive Science Abstracts provides access to 71 years of science abstracts in the fields of physics, electrical engineering, and control technology. In addition to the abstracts, this database includes the accompanying tables, graphs and diagrams when available. - Jahrbuch über der Fortschritte der Mathematik (1868-1942)
From the Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics; contains links to over 13,000 facsimiles of the original works. - JSTOR
Backfiles of many important mathematics and statistics journals from their inceptions to within a few years of the present. - MATH Database, Zentralblatt für Mathematik
From the European Mathematical Society. Free access to this database is restricted to 3 citations per search. - Mathematics Indexes, Abstracts,
Bibliographies, and Table of Contents Services
From the University of Houston libraries. - Mathematics
Web (Elsevier)
Mathematics Web provides an integrated search of journal articles and preprints from Elsevier journals, as well as services to facilitate research in pure mathematics, applied mathematics and statistics. - MathSciNet 1940+
Best database for faculty/graduate student/undergrad major research. From the American Mathematical Society, this database is based on the data in Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, leading publications that catalog and review research literature in mathematics. - Web of Science (Science Citation Index) 1987+
Containing Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Web of Science offers multidisciplinary searching and seamless access to cited reference searching. The WOS databases include bibliographic and citation information for articles from over 5,700 science and engineering journals, as well as social sciences and humanities journals. Updated weekly.
Web Resources
Comprehensive Subject Lists
- Academic Info Mathematics
- Constants and Equations Pages
- EEVL Mathematics Section
- EINet Galaxy - Mathematics
- EULER - European Libraries and Electronic Resources in Mathematical Sciences
- FirstGov for Science
- Internet Resources for Mathematics [pdf file, British slant; slow to load]
- Internet Resources for the Mathematics Student
- Math Forum Internet Mathematics Library
- Mathematical Atlas - a Guide to Modern Mathematics
- Mathematics Genealogy Project
- Mathematics Survey
- MathGate - An Internet Resource Catalogue for Mathematics
- Mathematics on the Web -- from the American Mathematical Society
- MathSearch
- Mathworld (Eric Weisstein's Encyclopedia)
- Metamath Home Page - Includes over 3000 completely worked out proofs in logic and set theory and more
- National Science Digital Library
- Probability Web
- Topology Atlas
- WWW Virtual Library - Mathematics
- Yahoo Index - Mathematics
Organizations
- CIRS.net (Scientific Organization Portal)
- Shortcuts to Math Departments
- American Institute of Mathematics
- American Mathematical Society
- American Statistical Association
- Association for Women in Mathematics
- Canadian Mathematical Society
- Centre International de Rencontre Mathématique (CIRM)
- European Mathematical Society
- Fields Institute
- Institute for Mathematics and its Applications
- International Mathematical Union
- Issac Newton Institute for Mathematical Sciences
- London Mathematical Society
- Mathematical Association of America
- Mathematical Sciences Research Institute (MSRI)
- Max Planck Institute for Mathematics
- Societe Mathematique de France
- Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM)
Preprints
- AMS Directory of Mathematics Preprint and e-Print Servers
- ArXiv: Math
- Institute for Mathematical Sciences Preprint Server
- Los Alamos E-Print Archive - U.Cal. Davis front end
- Mathematics Preprint Server
- University of Illinois Department of Mathematics Preprints
Software, Applets, Images and Datasets
- Archimedes' Laboratory
- Guide to Available Mathematical Software
- Gallery of Mathematics Images
- iLumina Educational Resources for Science and Mathematics
- Math and Physics Applets
- Miscellaneous Mathematical Utilities
Questions? Call the Information Desk at 924-3628.
