Science and Engineering Libraries
Search VIRGO Catalog
 
Search Databases
Support the Library Alderman Library home page General Information Resources Services Collections Digital Initiatives Satellite Libraries Reference Services



Science and Engineering Images

I'd Like to Schedule a Research Tutorial.

This page contains links to sources of science and engineering images which may be useful for study, teaching, or presentations.

 

NOTE: You should always assume that any image you find on the web carries copyright restrictions, unless it is clearly indicated as being in the public domain or otherwise freely available, and you should check with the owner of an image before using it in papers or presentations if you have doubts about its copyright status. This is especially true if you intend to make your paper or presentation publicly available outside of class, e.g. as a web page or printed document. You should always properly credit the source for any image you use regardless of its origin or copyright status.

 

For further information and suggestions, you may wish to review Finding Images on the Web, a series of web pages by Ruth S. Thomas of Boston University that deal with the complexities of locating imgages and obtaining permission to use them. The Wikipedia also maintains a page of public domain image resources that contains items not listed below.


Photographs and Non-Video Images (Video Resources Below)

  • American Society for Cell Biology Image and Video Library
    A collection of peer-reviewed cell images, videos, and digitized texts that illustrate the structure, function and biology of the cell, the fundamental unit of life.
  • ARTstor
    ARTstor's content includes approximately 500,000 images covering art, architecture and archeology.
  • Ask.com Image Search
    Popular search engine offers an image searching capability.
  • Associated Press Photo Archive
    The AP Photo Archive contains some 400,000 images, most of which are contemporary photos made since late 1995. Hundreds of spot news and feature pictures enter into the Archive each day, and a selection of historical images are scanned in weekly.
  • Astronomy Picture of the Day
    Presents a different astronomy-related photo each day from the vast NASA archives. Includes a description, glossary, links to archived photos, and related material.
  • CAMIO - Catalog of Art Museum Images Online
    CAMIO contains a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world from prehistoric to contemporary times. Includes decorative arts and utilitarian objects.
  • Colorcube Optical Illusions
    A series of pages devoted to various optical illusions, phenomena, color blindness, art, etc.
  • Ditto
    An image search engine that provides visual web searching capability.
  • Fagan Finder Image Search
    A meta-search tool for locating images of all types in several dozen web resources.
  • Flickr
    An image search engine for locating—and sharing—pictures on the web.
  • Fotosearch - Stock Photography and Stock Footage
    The Fotosearch image search engine allows you to search millions of images from over 100 stock photography, stock illustration, and video footage publishers at one website.
  • Getty Images
    An image company providing stock millions of photographs of all kinds.
  • Google Image Search
    This popular and extensive web search engine provides an option designed for searching for images on the web.
  • Google Patent Search
    Provides an easy way to search for United States patents and their accompanying images.
  • Historical Image Collection - Smithsonian Institution
    The Science Service Historical Image Collection represents twentieth-century scientific research consisting of images and original captions as they appeared in period publications.
  • Holt Studios Pictures of Agricultural, Gardening, and Wildlife
    A searchable library of international agricultural, horticultural, gardening and wildlife photographs. Requires free registration; includes the most comprehensive collection of crop and garden weeds, pests, diseases and disorders.
  • Images from the History of Medicine
    This system provides access to the nearly 60,000 images in the prints and photograph collection of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). The collection includes portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, genre scenes, and graphic art in a variety of media, illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine.
  • Kóre - The Fine Arts Library's Image Collection
    A search engine for slides and digital images available from the UVA Fine Arts Library.
  • Library of Congress American Memory Project
    Gateway to the images and collections of the Library of Congress documenting American history and experience.
  • Live Search — Images
    The image searching component of this web search engine. Offers several unique features in terms of viewing, organizing, and collecting images found on the web.
  • NASA Space Science Images
    Looking for images of the Sun, planets, stars, galaxies, or something else out there in space? Here are some of the best collections, most from NASA missions, some from elsewhere.
  • NASA Visible Earth
    The purpose of NASA's Visible Earth is to provide a consistently updated, central point of access to the superset of NASA's Earth science-related images, animations, and data visualizations. These images are considered to be public domain and, as such, are freely available to the interested public-at-large, the media, scientists, and educators.
  • National Portrait Gallery (London)
    Pictures of over 90,000 individuals important to British history, including scientists and engineers.
  • National Space Sciences Data Center Photo Gallery
    Provides access to some of the most popular NASA photographs of solar system and astronomical objects.
  • NOAA Photo Library
    The NOAA Photo Library captures the work, observations, and studies carried on by the scientists, engineers, commissioned officers, and administrative personnel of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. To date, it includes over 16,000 images.
  • Our Earth as Art (NASA Landsat Images)
  • Perry Castañeda Library Map Collection
    Large collection of current and historical maps from all areas of the world, including such thematic topics as climate, energy, industry and economics, land use and population.
  • Picsearch
    An image search engine for locating pictures and images on the web.
  • Pixsy
    An image search engine for locating pictures and images on the web.
  • Planet Perplex
    The purpose of this site is to show every type of illusion. Whenever possible the sits's maintainer includes background information on the images.
  • Science and Society Picture Library
    A searchable collection of over 50,000 images relating to science and its role in society. Includes persons, objects, concepts, historical events, etc.
  • Science and Technology Images on the Web
    An article from the Summer 2001 issue of Issues in Science and Technology Librarianship listing a number of science and engineering image resources.
  • Science.gov
    A web search engine optimized for discovering the best web pages offered by the United States Federal Government. Many US government web sites maintain image collections on a wide variety of subjects.
  • Science Image Online
    An image library specializing in science and nature, presented by CSIRO, Australia's major science research organization. Images are copyrighted but are available for private and educational use at no charge. See their specific conditions of use for details.
  • Science Photo Library
    A leading provider of high-quality science and engineering photographs. Searching the 100,000+ image site is free after registration; use of the photos requires payment.
  • Stock Photograph Collection
    A collection of over 40,000 stock photographs on CD-ROM, can be used for University-related presentations, productions and projects. An online form allows searching of the stock photo database. To view the images, you must visit the Robertson Media Center in Clemons Library.
  • Structurae
    This website offers information on works of structural engineering (and architecture) around the world. You will find a diverse range of structures from bridges, skyscrapers and towers to dams and off-shore structures. All periods of history are covered ranging from the pyramids of ancient Egypt and Gothic cathedrals to the most daring bridges of today.
  • U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service National Image Library
    An online collection of public domain still photographs. The National Image Library contains still photo images of wildlife, plants, National Wildlife Refuges and other scenes, as well as wildlife management work.
  • U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Database
    Provides full text of all patents issued since 1976 and page images of all patents issued since 1790. Images are in TIFF format and require a browser plug-in to view.
  • UVA Library Digital Repository Image Collections
    A gateway and search engine to various digitized image collections available to UVA students and faculty. Note that this is an experimental search service and may be unpredictably unavailable. Also, you must be on Grounds or authenticated via proxy in order to use the Repository.
  • Visual Complexity
    VisualComplexity.com intends to be a unified resource space for anyone interested in the visualization of complex networks. The project's main goal is to leverage a critical understanding of different visualization methods, across a series of disciplines, as diverse as Biology, Social Networks or the World Wide Web.
  • Windows Live Search — Images
    The image searching component of this web search engine. Offers several unique features in terms of viewing, organizing, and collecting images found on the web.
  • Yahoo Images
    Search engine for locating images on the web.
  • Yotophoto
    An index to well over a quarter million Creative Commons, Public Domain, GNU FDL, and various other 'copyleft' images.

Video and Motion Picture Images (Still Image Resources Above)

  • AOL Video Search
    Video search concentrating on movies and television programming.
  • blinkx
    Indexes and makes available millions of hours of video content from across the web.
  • Google Video Search
    This popular and extensive web search engine provides an option designed for searching for video on the web.
  • Library of Congress American Memory Project
    Gateway to the images and motion picture collections of the Library of Congress documenting American history and experience.
  • MERLOT — Multimedia Educational Resources for Learning and Online Teaching
    MERLOT is a searchable collection of peer reviewed, higher education, online learning materials created by registered members, and a set of faculty development support services. MERLOT's vision is to be a premiere online community where faculty, staff, and students from around the world share their learning materials and pedagogy.
  • MIC — Moving Image Collections
    MIC lets you discover, locate, and even (in some cases) view moving images from around the world. There are two databases, a union catalog listing the moving image content of MIC's participants, and an archive directory listing organizations that collect moving images.
  • MIT OpenCourseWare
    Provides free, searchable access to the Massachusetts Institute of Technology's course materials for educators, students, and self-learners around the world.
  • Moving Image Gateway
    The Moving Image Gateway (MIG) is a service that collects together websites that relate to moving images and sound and their use in higher and further education. The sites are classified by academic discipline. Compiled by the British Universities Film and Video Council.
  • OpenCourseWare Consortium
    The OpenCourseWare Consortium is a collaboration of more than 100 higher education institutions and associated organizations from around the world creating a broad and deep body of open educational content using a shared model.
  • OpenCourseWare Finder
    A search engine for locating opencourseware from a select group of educational institutions.
  • PureVideo
    A video search engine catering mostly to the entertainment segment.
  • The Teaching Company
    A commercial educational resource featuring college-level "courses" on a wide variety of topics. Use of Teaching Company materials requires purchase.
  • World Lecture Hall
    World Lecture Hall publishes links to pages created by faculty worldwide who are using the Web to deliver course materials in any language.
  • Yahoo! Video Search
    Search engine provides an option for locating video on the web.
  • YouTube
    A social video sharing service to which members can upload video materials on nearly any subject and anyone can view videos of interest.

 

 

Charles L. Brown Science & Engineering Library
University of Virginia
PO Box 400124
Charlottesville, VA 22904-4124
ph: 434.924.3628

Brown Library Home  UVa Library Home
Search the Library Site
  UVa Home
Maintained by: science_library@virginia.edu
  Last Modified: Monday, June 02, 2008
© The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Science and Engineering Libraries home page University of Virginia Library home page University of Virginia Library home page Science and Engineering Libraries home page