Disasters and Natural Hazards Research Guide
| Subject Librarian: Rebecca Pappert | I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
| Recommended Reference Works | |
|---|---|
|
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations |
|
Databases / Indexes
Book Indexes
Search these databases for books.
- VIRGO
Information on over 4 million books, journals, and other items held in the University of Virginia's libraries, including business, health sciences, and law. - Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical
Information Catalogue
Search for books, technical reports, journals and conference proceedings in all areas of science, engineering, health sciences and agriculture. - Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. These resources include many hard-to-find and scarce items often not readily available elsewhere. UVA faculty and students may request books from CRL's collections via Interlibrary Services. - Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering
and Technology
The Linda Hall Library, a private institution funded by endowment, serves the scientific research community as a resource for engineering and technical materials, including over 600,000 volumes, 1.1 million microforms, U.S. Patents since 1946, and subscriptions to 16,500 journals. - WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Contains records from thousands of North American libraries.
Conference Proceedings Indexes
Search this database for citations to conference proceedings papers.
- Conference Papers Index 1982+ (CSA)
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world.
- PapersFirst 1993+ (FS)
Citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia. Updated monthly.
Journal Indexes
-Search these indexes for citations to journal articles.
-To get more information about a database, click the information icon (
).
- Compendex 1969+ (Engineering Village)
Research-level database for structural disasters. The world's premiere interdisciplinary engineering database.
- Earthquake Engineering Abstracts
Over 70,000 abstracts on earthquake-related topics.
- GeoRef 1785+ (CSA)
International coverage of 3000 journals in geology and earth science.
- INSPEC 1969+ (Engineering Village)
Physics (includes weather), electrical engineering (e.g. power outages), computers (e.g. database hacking, data loss).
- INSPEC Archive Science Abstracts 1898-1968 (Ovid)
The Inspec Archive Science Abstracts provides access to 71 years of science abstracts in the fields of physics, electrical engineering, and control technology. In addition to the abstracts, this database includes the accompanying tables, graphs and diagrams when available. - Web of Science (Science Citation Index) 1987+
Containing Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Web of Science offers multidisciplinary searching and seamless access to cited reference searching. The WOS databases include bibliographic and citation information for articles from over 5,700 science and engineering journals, as well as social sciences and humanities journals. Updated weekly.
- Ingenta (formerly Carl Uncover)
Current awareness service. View tables-of-contents, or select titles and have tables-of-contents e-mailed to you.
Web Resources
Current Awareness Services
- Many journal publishers and database vendors offer alerting services which you can use to have journal tables of contents or other information about articles of interest E-mailed to you on a periodic basis. Some of these services appear below. You can learn more about keeping current in your field at Alison McNab's Keeping Your Research Up to Date web page or at the Engineering Current Awareness Services web page from the Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library (EEVL).
- Amedeo.com
- Cambridge Journals Online
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
- EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service
- Emerald Alerts
- Infotrieve
- Kluwer Alert Services
- Ovid
- Oxford Journals Content Alerting
- SARA - Scholarly Articles Research Alerting
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
- Springer Link Alert
Comprehensive Subject Lists
- Disaster Relief
- Federal Emergency Management Agency
- FirstGov for Science
- Global Emergencies
- HazardNet
- Insurance Information Institute - Catastrophes
- National Science Digital Library
- Natural Hazards Center - Best Overall Site
- Ohio State University Weather Server
- ReliefWeb
- U.S.G.S. Geologic Hazards
- Volunteers in Technical Assistance (VITA)
- Yahoo Index - Disasters
Organizations
- CIRS.net (Scientific Organization Portal)
- Federal Emergency Management Agency
- International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
General Information
- Extreme Weather Sourcebook - Economic Losses Related to Floods, Tornadoes and Hurricanes in the United States
- Natural Hazard Statistics
- OFDA Reports Index (Office of US Foreign Disaster Assistance)
- PlanetDiary
Biological Disasters
- Diseases
-
- National Center for Infectious Diseases
- Outbreaks
- Famines
- Global Information and Early Warning System on Food and Agriculture
- World Food Programme
- Migratory Pests
- Migratory Pests Home Page
Geophysical Disasters
Earthquakes, Tsunamis, Asteroids
- Asteroid and Comet Impact Hazards
- Calculating the Threat of Tsunami
- Earthquake Information Network
- Geologic Hazard Photos
- IRIS Consortium
- MCEER - Multidisciplinary Center for Earthquake Engineering Research
- National Earthquake Information Center
- Near Real-Time Earthquake List
- PEER Strong Motion Database
- Tsunami!
Mass Movements
- Cyberspace Snow and Avalanche Center
- Geologic Hazard Photos
- National Landslide Information Center
- National Snow and Ice Data Center
- Westwide Avalanche Network
Volcanoes
- Electronic Volcano
- Geologic Hazard Photos
- Global Volcanism Program
- This Dynamic Planet
- Volcano World
- Volcanoes Homepage - Michigan Technological University
- World Organization of Volcano Observatories
Meteorological Disasters
Metasites
- Extreme Weather Sourcebook - Economic Losses Related to Floods, Tornadoes and Hurricanes in the United States
- National Climatic Data Center
- National Severe Storm Laboratory
- National Snow and Ice Data Center
- NOAA Photo Archive
- Societal Aspects of Weather
- Tornado and Storm Research Organisation
- USA Today Weather Page
Droughts and Floods
Hurricanes and Tropical Storms
Lightning and Wild Fires
- Fire Effects Information System
- Fire Detection Around the World
- FireNet Virtual Library
- Global Fire Monitoring
- National Interagency Fire Center
- National Lightning Safety Institute
Tornadoes and Severe Storms
Technological Disasters
Accidents
- crashDATABASE.com
- Emergency Response Notification System
- National Transportation Safety Board
- United States Fire Administration
Terrorism and War
Questions? Call the Information Desk at 924-3628.
