Engineering Design Resources
| Subject Librarian: Fred O'Bryant | I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
| Recommended Reference Works | |
|---|---|
|
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms CRCnetBASE CRC Press Handbook and Reference Collection in addition to ENGnetBASE ENGnetBASE CRC Press Engineering Handbook and Reference Collection Knovel Library Engineering and Science Handbook and Reference Collection |
Referex Large collection of engineering e-books and references Safari Tech Books Online |
The items listed on this page are useful as basic resources for researching an engineering design project. This list is NOT exhaustiveplease ask for assistance in locating additional materials on this topic, if you are not finding what you need.
Databases / Indexes
Book Indexes
Search these databases for books.
- VIRGO
Information on over 4 million books, journals, and other items held in the University of Virginia's libraries, including business, health sciences, and law. - Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical
Information Catalogue
Search for books, technical reports, journals and conference proceedings in all areas of science, engineering, health sciences and agriculture. - Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. These resources include many hard-to-find and scarce items often not readily available elsewhere. UVA faculty and students may request books from CRL's collections via Interlibrary Services. - Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering
and Technology
The Linda Hall Library, a private institution funded by endowment, serves the scientific research community as a resource for engineering and technical materials, including over 600,000 volumes, 1.1 million microforms, U.S. Patents since 1946, and subscriptions to 16,500 journals. - WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Contains records from thousands of North American libraries.
Journal Indexes
-Search these indexes for citations to journal articles.
-To get more information about a database, click the information icon (
).
-Additional databases are available on the Brown
Library Databases page.
- ANTE:
Abstracts in New Technologies
& Engineering 1981+ (CSA)
Includes new technologies in all areas of engineering, science and allied subject areas. - Compendex 1969+ (Engineering Village)
The world's premiere interdisciplinary engineering database.
- InfoTrac Search Bank
Good source for general information on many topics. - Web of Science (Science Citation Index) 1987+
Containing Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Web of Science offers multidisciplinary searching and seamless access to cited reference searching. The WOS databases include bibliographic and citation information for articles from over 5,700 science and engineering journals, as well as social sciences and humanities journals. Updated weekly.
Web Resources
Comprehensive Subject Lists
- ABLEDATA - Assistive Technology Website
- BUBL LINK - Engineering Design
- Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum
- Design Directory
- EEVL - Internet Guide to Engineering, Mathematics and Computing
- eFunda - Design Standards
- Engineer's Edge
- FirstGov for Science
- FreeCalc.com Online Applications for Engineering Design
- How Stuff Works
- How Things Work Guide Page
- National Science Digital Library
- Yahoo Index - Engineering
Product Information
- GlobalSpecComponents and Suppliers Database
- Industrial Quick Search Industrial Manufacturers Directory
- McMaster-Carr
- Thomas Register on CDROM (T12.T62) - Ask at Brown Library Circulation Desk
Patent Information
Standards
- ANSI - American National Standards Institute
- ASTM - American Society for Testing and Materials
- STINET - DoD Specs and Standards
Other Resources
- Artistic Tanks
- Doodles, Drafts and Designs Industrial Drawings from the Smithsonian
- MoCoLoCo Modern Design Magazine
Questions? Call the Brown Library Information Desk at 924-3628.
