Weather and Climate Research Guide
| Subject Librarian: Rebecca Pappert | I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
| Recommended Reference Works | |
|---|---|
|
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics CRCnetBASE CRC Press Handbook and Reference Collection in addition to ENGnetBASE ENGnetBASE CRC Press Engineering Handbook and Reference Collection ENVIROnetBASE CRC Press Environmental Handbook and Reference Collection Knovel Library Engineering and Science Handbook and Reference Collection |
Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations Safari Tech Books Online |
Databases / Indexes
Book Indexes
Search these databases for books.
- VIRGO
Information on over 4 million books, journals, and other items held in the University of Virginia's libraries, including business, health sciences, and law. - Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical
Information Catalogue
Search for books, technical reports, journals and conference proceedings in all areas of science, engineering, health sciences and agriculture. - Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. These resources include many hard-to-find and scarce items often not readily available elsewhere. UVA faculty and students may request books from CRL's collections via Interlibrary Services. - Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering
and Technology
The Linda Hall Library, a private institution funded by endowment, serves the scientific research community as a resource for engineering and technical materials, including over 600,000 volumes, 1.1 million microforms, U.S. Patents since 1946, and subscriptions to 16,500 journals. - WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Contains records from thousands of North American libraries.
Conference Proceedings Indexes
Search this database for citations to conference proceedings papers.
- Conference Papers Index 1982+ (CSA)
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world.
- PapersFirst 1993+ (FS)
Citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia. Updated monthly.
Current Awareness Services
- Many journal publishers and database vendors offer alerting services which you can use to have journal tables of contents or other information about articles of interest E-mailed to you on a periodic basis. Some of these services appear below. You can learn more about keeping current in your field at Alison McNab's Keeping Your Research Up to Date web page or at the Engineering Current Awareness Services web page from the Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library (EEVL).
- Amedeo.com
- Cambridge Journals Online
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
- EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service
- Emerald Alerts
- Infotrieve
- Kluwer Alert Services
- Ovid
- Oxford Journals Content Alerting
- SARA - Scholarly Articles Research Alerting
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
- Springer Link Alert
Journal Indexes
- Search these indexes for citations to journal articles.
- To get more information about a database, click the information icon
(
).
- Additional weather and climate databases are available on the SEL
Databases page.
- Expanded Academic ASAP 1980+ (Infotrac Web)
Articles covering general sciences including weather. - INSPEC 1969+ (Engineering Village)
Scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings in computing, electrical engineering, physics (including atmospheric sciences).
- INSPEC Archive Science Abstracts 1898-1968 (Ovid)
The Inspec Archive Science Abstracts provides access to 71 years of science abstracts in the fields of physics, electrical engineering, and control technology. In addition to the abstracts, this database includes the accompanying tables, graphs and diagrams when available. - Web of Science (Science Citation Index) 1987+
Containing Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Web of Science offers multidisciplinary searching and seamless access to cited reference searching. The WOS databases include bibliographic and citation information for articles from over 5,700 science and engineering journals, as well as social sciences and humanities journals. Updated weekly.
Web Resources
Comprehensive Subject Lists
- About.com Meteorology
- Automated Flood Warning Network
- Center for Climatic Research (Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison)
- EINet Galaxy - Meteorology and Climatology
- FirstGov for Science
- National Science Digital Library
- NOAA Web Sites - Weather
- PSIgateWeather and Climate
- Resources for Earth Science and Geography Instruction
- WeatherNet - Univ. of Michigan
- Wind and Sea - The Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences Internet Locator
- WWW Virtual Library - Meteorology
- Weathertalk.net
- Yahoo Index - Meteorology
Forecasting Services
- Intellicast.com (Includes Recent Historical Data by Locality)
- Virginia 15-Minute Rainfall Data
- UVA Weather Page
- Weather Channel (Includes Last Week's Worth of Data)
- Weather Underground (Includes Recent Historical Data by Locality)
Organizations
Questions? Call the Information Desk at 924-3628.
