Chemistry Research Guide
| Subject Librarian: Beth Blanton-Kent | I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
| General Sources of Chemical Information | |
|---|---|
|
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Dictionary of Organic Compounds CRCnetBASE CRC Press Handbook and Reference Collection in addition to ENGnetBASE ENGnetBASE CRC Press Engineering Handbook and Reference Collection Knovel Library Engineering and Science Handbook and Reference Collection Referex Large collection of engineering e-books and references Safari Tech Books Online online IT handbooks Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry |
Chemical Properties Handbook Brown Library Reference TP200 .Y35 1999 CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Astronomy Library Reference QD65 .H3 Bio/Psych Library Reference QD 65 .H3 Brown Library Reference QD65 .H3 Chemistry Library Reference QD65 .H3 Physics Library Reference QD65 .H3 Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary Brown Library Reference QD5 .C5 2001 Chemistry Library Reference QD5 .C5 2001 Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry Brown Library Reference QD4 .M33 1997 Merck Index Brown Library Reference RS51 .M4 2001 Chemistry Library Reference RS 356 .M524 2001 Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry Brown Library Reference QD5 .D495 2000 Properties of Gases and Liquids Brown Library Reference TP242 .P62 2001 Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry Brown Library Reference TP9 .U57 1985 |
Databases
Locate Books
Search these databases for books.
- VIRGO
Information on over 4 million books, journals, and other items held in the University of Virginia's libraries, including business, health sciences, and law. - Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical
Information Catalogue
Search for books, technical reports, journals and conference proceedings in all areas of science, engineering, health sciences and agriculture. - Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. These resources include many hard-to-find and scarce items often not readily available elsewhere. UVA faculty and students may request books from CRL's collections via Interlibrary Services. - Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering
and Technology
The Linda Hall Library, a private institution funded by endowment, serves the scientific research community as a resource for engineering and technical materials, including over 600,000 volumes, 1.1 million microforms, U.S. Patents since 1946, and subscriptions to 16,500 journals. - WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Contains records from thousands of North American libraries.
Locate Journal Articles
-Search these databases for citations to journal articles.
-Additional chemistry databases are available on the Brown Library
Databases page.
-Use our Find@UVA Journal Finder
page to locate E-journals, E-magazines, and E-newspapers.
- ACS Publications
Good first database for undergraduate research. Full text of articles from journals published by the American Chemical Society. - Beilstein, through MDL DiscoveryGate, provides chemical data on organic substances and reactions, including
structures, properties, bioactivity records, preparation details and specific reaction pathways; also provides
citations and some abstracts to the primary organic chemistry literature. Incorporates data from the original
Beilstein Handbuch (1771-1984) and journals abstracted since 1980. Download the software and search
Beilstein here: https://wwwdiscoverygate.com.
Contact Beth Blanton-Kent, 924-6837, or e-mail her at bwb9f@virginia.edu for more information and assistance. - ScienceDirect
Another good database for beginning your undergraduate research. Full text of articles from journals published by Elsevier Science. - SciFinder Scholar
Premier database for graduate and faculty research. SciFinder Scholar can be searched by research topic, substance identifier, chemical structure, chemical reaction, and/or author's name. For more info, and instructions for how to install this program on your computer, click here. - Web of Science (Current Contents) 1987+
Containing Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Web of Science offers multidisciplinary searching and seamless access to cited reference searching. The WOS databases include bibliographic and citation information for articles from over 5,700 science and engineering journals, as well as social sciences and humanities journals. Updated weekly.
Chemical and Physical Properties
- ChemExper Chemical Directory
- ChemFinder - an index of chemical data on the Internet
- Chemistry Functions - balance equations, perform conversions, etc. (IE Explorer browser recommended)
- ChemSpy
- CODATA Key Values for Thermodynamics
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
- eMolecules
- EPA Substance Registry
- Exploring the Table of Isotopes (Berkeley Laboratory)
- F*A*C*T - Facility for the Analysis of Thermochemical Data
- NIST Chemistry WebBook - produced by the National Institute of Science and Technology
- Organic Compounds Database
- Periodic Table of Elements (EnvironmentalChemistry.com)
- Phase Diagram Web
- Pictorial Periodic Table
- Sigma-Aldrich Search Center
- Thermo Chemical Properties Estimations
- Thermodex - an index of selected thermodynamic data handbooks
- WebElements
Organizations
- American Chemical Society
- Chemical Heritage Foundation
- CIRS.net (Scientific Organization Portal)
- Electrochemical Society
- International Society of Heterocyclic Chemistry
- Royal Society of Chemistry (UK)
Patents
Price Information for Chemicals
- Aldrich Catalog and Handbook of Fine Chemicals (Brown Library Reserve TP202.A38)
An extensive catalog of over 37,000 substances and techware. Chemicals are listed in alphabetical order followed by a molecular formula index. Limited chemical properties and brief information about use, storage, etc. is often included. Prices are generally for smaller quantities (a few kilograms or less, usually several hundred grams or less). Also includes a trademark index. Much of this information is also available in their online catalog. - ChemConnect
ChemConnect is the Internet's largest global chemical and plastics exchange, providing an open neutral market for chemical and plastic manufacturers, buyers, and intermediaries to conduct real-time online transactions for all types of chemicals. - Chemical Register
ChemicalRegister is a comprehensive online reference database of suppliers of products and services used for the building and maintenance of the Chemical industries. The user interface has been meticulously designed to allow prospective buyers to efficiently search and browse over 15,000 vendors in a categorization of 30,000 products. - Chemical Week (current issues shelved alphabetically in the Brown Library Reading
Room; bound volumes in Stacks TP1.C37)
Each issue contains the CW Price Report listing prices for a few key chemicals on both the U.S. and European markets. - Factiva
Company and business information from Dow Jones and articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals as well as news photographs from Reuters News Service. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles. Logout at the end of a session to avoid problems connecting the next time. NOTE: Dow Jones recommends using Internet Explorer 5.01 or higher under Windows. Netscape and Mac users will not have full functionality. For home use through the proxy server, IE6 or higher is best. - Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
From the main menu select "Industry and Market News", then from the pull-down menu select "Chemicals, Plastics and Rubber News" (or "Pharmaceuticals and Cosmetics News"), then enter the name of the chemical or substance of interest in the "Topic" search box. Select a date range to search, then click on the "Search" button. Adding price as a keyword in the "Additional Terms" search box may increase the specificity of your results.
Spectra
- NIST Chemistry Web Book
- NMRShiftDB
- SDBS - Spectral Database for Organic Compounds
- Sigma Aldrich Online Catalog
Questions? Call the Brown Library Information Desk at 924-3628.
