Finding Information about Companies and Industries
| Subject Librarian: Call 924-3628 | I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
This page contains links to databases and other sources of information about financial data and organizational structure of various companies, corporations, and industries. For additional help in locating similar information, contact staff at the Brown Library Information Desk or at the reference desks in either the Clemons Undergraduate Library or the Darden Business School Library.
- Business Information
Center
Links to commercial information sources as compiled by the University of Virginia Libraries subject librarian for commerce. - Business Plan Archive
The Internet boom and bust of 1996 to 2002 was the most important business phenomenon of the past several decades. In the wake of this historic period, there is an unprecedented opportunity to learn from past mistakes and successes. The Business Plan Archive (BPA) collects business plans and related documents from the dot com era. These plans, the blueprints that lay out the assumptions and strategies of Internet entrepreneurs, enable entrepreneurs and researchers to conduct both qualitative and quantitative research on these companies. - Companies Online
Information on over 100,000 public and private companies. Searchable or browse predefined categories. Requires free registration for advanced searching. - CorpTech Database of 50,000 High-Tech Companies
CorpTech collects primary information for sales prospecting and company research on over 50,000 hi-tech manufacturers and developers. You'll find in-depth business profiles that will give you an accurate picture of what a company is all aboutwhat products they produce, who are the key contacts, sales levels, ownership, employment growth, contact information and a complete review of historical business changes over the past 10 years. - Direct
Search: Business & Economics
Links to many sources of business, economic, and financial information, as well as calculators, maps, etc. - Hoover's Online
A business portal site offering standard company financial data as well as news, company histories, unusual facts, and related business data and information. - Kompass.com
A business search engine allowing look-up by company name or geographic location worldwide. Also allows browsing by product categories. Extensive coverage. - Lasoo
A search engine dedicated to finding information on over 25 million businesses and websites worldwide using a unique map-based approach. - Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Use the "Business" section to locate company news and financial information, EDGAR filings, annual & quarterly reports & proxy statements, and business articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, wires & transcripts. - MEPS Steel Information
MEPS provides the most comprehensive analysis of steel market prices in the world covering a total of twenty countries on four continents. - Silicon Valley Companies
A database of the 150 largest publicly traded Silicon Valley firms. From the San Jose Mercury News. - Steel Mills - Steel Information and Related
Web Sites
Information on Production, Trade, Recycling, News, Steel Fabricators, Equipment, Technology, and Instrumentation. - Thomas Register
Search for products from over 150,000 American and Canadian companies. Requires free registration.
Questions? Call the Brown Library Information Desk at 924-3628.
