Science and Engineering Libraries
Search VIRGO Catalog
 
Search Databases
Support the Library Alderman Library home page General Information Resources Services Collections Digital Initiatives Satellite Libraries Reference Services



Scientific and Engineering Biographies

Subject Librarian: Fred O'Bryant I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial

 

  1. 100 Distinguished European Chemists from the Chemical Revolution to the 21st Century
    The Federation of European Chemical Societies initiated, as a Millennium Project, the celebration of Distinguished European Chemists spanning a period of over two hundred years. Member societies and individuals were invited to submit their nominations of distinguished European chemists from the end of the 18th century until the present day. In addition to Nobel Prize winners, there were nominations of many others from Europe who have, over more than two centuries, transformed the science and influenced science, industry or society worldwide.

  2. Science Biography: Guide to Reference Sources
    A large annotated list of printed reference sources arranged by discipline. Gives LC call numbers which may or may not correspond to ones here at UVA. Check VIRGO to see if the library owns the book. No links to other Web resources.

  3. African-American Mathematicians
    A compilation of information on African-American mathematicians from the "Ask Dr. Math" web site.

  4. Biographies of Women Mathematicians
    From Agnes Scott College. An on-going project to chronicle the contributions of female mathematicians. Includes some pictures.

  5. Biography.com
    Includes over 20,000 biographies, many of them non-scientists.

  6. Biography Resource Center
    The Biography Resource Center (BioRC) is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more that 150,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

  7. The Black Inventor Online Museum
    The Black Inventor Online Museum ™, is a look at the great and often unrecognized pioneers in the field of invention and innovation.

  8. Blacks in Technology: Past and Present
    Presents brief biographies of several Black scientists and engineers.

  9. Bright Sparcs
    A register of people involved in the development of science, technology, engineering and medicine in Australia, including references to their archival materials and bibliographic resources.

  10. Britannica Online
    Search for individuals by name.

  11. Chemists That Shaped the Science
    This site contains a list of the most important people who have contributed to the development of chemistry. It is planned to include a biography with the most important details of their life and their scientific contribution.

  12. Computer Scientists of the African Diaspora
    These web pages have been created to exhibit accomplishments of the peoples of Africa and the African Diaspora within the field of Computer Science.

  13. Contributions of African-Americans and Other Minority and Ethnic Groups to Mathematics and Science
    A web page that consists of links to sites providing information on contributions by African Americans and other ethnic and minority groups to mathematics and science.

  14. Discovery Online
    Use the search term 'biography' (with or without specific other qualifiers) to locate information.

  15. Eric Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography
    Contains brief biographies of many scientists and mathematicians.

  16. Faces of Science: African Americans in the Sciences
    Profiled here are African American men and women who have contributed to the advancement of science and engineering.

  17. 4000 Years of Women in Science
    Locate names alphabetically, chronologically, or by discipline.

  18. Great Canadian Scientists
    Includes bios of over 150 Canadians who have contributed to scientific discovery.

  19. History of Astronomy: Persons
    Includes longer bios of astronomers and related scientists, along with links to other sources of biographical data. May be slow to load.

  20. HSTM Biographical Dictionary
    Biographies of historical and contemporary figures of science, medicine, and technology.

  21. Lemelson-MIT Program Celebrating Invention and Innovation
    Includes brief biographical data on various inventors. You may have to dig a bit to find specific information.

  22. MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive - Univ. of St. Andrews
    A comprehensive site including online bios of many famous mathematicians. Can be slow loading.

  23. Mathematicians of the African Diaspora
    These web pages have been created to exhibit accomplishments of the peoples of Africa and the African Diaspora within the Mathematical Sciences.

  24. Mathematics Genealogy Project
    The brainchild of retired mathematics professor Harry B. Coonce, this site has the modest goal of listing information about everyone who has earned a doctorate in mathematics during the 20th century.

  25. Mathographies
    Brief biographies of mathematicians prepared by the faculty of Bellevue Community College, Bellevue, Washington.

  26. A Modern History of Blacks in Mathematics
    Dr. Scott W. Williams, a Professor of Mathematics at the State University of New York at Buffalo, maintains this webpage, which provides a Modern History of Blacks in Mathematics.

  27. National Academy Press
    Search for 'biography'. Check the VIRGO catalog to see if the library owns the particular volume you want. Some titles may be available online also.

  28. National Inventor's Hall of Fame
    The National Inventors Hall of Fame is dedicated to the individuals who conceived the great technological advances which this nation fosters through its patent system.

  29. Nobel Prize Internet Archive
    Information about the Nobel prize and its laureates.

  30. Physicists of the African Diaspora
    These web pages have been created to exhibit accomplishments of the peoples of Africa and the African Diaspora within the Physics Community.

  31. Profiles in Science
    The National Library of Medicine's Profiles in Science site focuses on the major scientific achievements of the twentieth century. The project is making the archival collections of prominent biomedical scientists available to the public through modern digital technology.

  32. SACNAS Biography Project
    These pages are designed as a resource for K-12 educators who are interested in teaching their students about the accomplishments of Chicano/Latino and Native American Scientists.

 

top of page

 

 

Questions? Call the Information Desk at 924-3628.

 

Charles L. Brown Science & Engineering Library
University of Virginia
PO Box 400124
Charlottesville, VA 22904-4124
ph: 434.924.3628

Brown Library Home  UVa Library Home
Search the Library Site
  UVa Home
Maintained by: science_library@virginia.edu
  Last Modified: Monday, June 02, 2008
© The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Science and Engineering Libraries home page University of Virginia Library home page University of Virginia Library home page Science and Engineering Libraries home page