Biodiversity Research Guide
| Subject Librarian: Rebecca Pappert | I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
| Recommended Reference Works | |
|---|---|
|
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics CRCnetBASE CRC Press Handbook and Reference Collection in addition to ENGnetBASE ENGnetBASE CRC Press Engineering Handbook and Reference Collection Knovel Library Engineering and Science Handbook and Reference Collection Encyclopedia of Biodiversity Brown Library Reference QH541.15 .B56 E53 2001 |
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations Safari Tech Books Online |
Databases / Indexes
Book Indexes
Search these databases for books.
- VIRGO
Information on over 4 million books, journals, and other items held in the University of Virginia's libraries, including business, health sciences, and law. - Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical
Information Catalogue
Search for books, technical reports, journals and conference proceedings in all areas of science, engineering, health sciences and agriculture. - Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. These resources include many hard-to-find and scarce items often not readily available elsewhere. UVA faculty and students may request books from CRL's collections via Interlibrary Services. - Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering
and Technology
The Linda Hall Library, a private institution funded by endowment, serves the scientific research community as a resource for engineering and technical materials, including over 600,000 volumes, 1.1 million microforms, U.S. Patents since 1946, and subscriptions to 16,500 journals. - WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Contains records from thousands of North American libraries.
Conference Proceedings Indexes
Search this database for citations to conference proceedings papers.
- Conference Papers Index 1982+ (CSA)
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world.
- PapersFirst 1993+ (FS)
Citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia. Updated monthly.
Current Awareness Services
- Many journal publishers and database vendors offer alerting services which you can use to have journal tables of contents or other information about articles of interest E-mailed to you on a periodic basis. Some of these services appear below. You can learn more about keeping current in your field at Alison McNab's Keeping Your Research Up to Date web page or at the Engineering Current Awareness Services web page from the Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library (EEVL).
- Amedeo.com
- Cambridge Journals Online
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
- EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service
- Emerald Alerts
- Infotrieve
- Kluwer Alert Services
- Ovid
- Oxford Journals Content Alerting
- SARA - Scholarly Articles Research Alerting
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
- Springer Link Alert
Journal Indexes - General
-Search these indexes for citations to journal articles.
-To get more information about a database, click the information icon (
).
-Additional biology and biodiversity databases are available on the Brown Library
Databases page.
-Use our Find@UVA Journal Finder
page to locate E-journals, E-magazines, and E-newspapers.
- Biological Abstracts (Ovid) 1985-
Good for graduate research. The world's premiere English-language biological and biomedical indexing and abstracting service.
- Biology Digest 1989+ (CSA)
Biology Digest is a compilation of abstracts and indexes of domestic and international literature in the area of life sciences. Its purpose is to aid in keeping students and instructors current on the latest developments in biological research.
- BioOne
BioOne provides integrated, full-text access to a thoroughly linked information resource of interrelated journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. - CAB Direct
With over four million records dating back to 1973, CAB Direct covers research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, human health, human nutrition, animal health and the management and conservation of natural resources. - Ecology Abstracts 1982+ (CSA)
Covers all areas of ecology including global environmental change and destruction, evolutionary biology, food chains, erosion and land reclamation, pollution and many other related topics.
- Web of Science (Science Citation Index) 1987+
Containing Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Web of Science offers multidisciplinary searching and seamless access to cited reference searching. The WOS databases include bibliographic and citation information for articles from over 5,700 science and engineering journals, as well as social sciences and humanities journals. Updated weekly.
Journal and Other Indexes - Species Specific
-Search these indexes for citations to journal articles and other kinds
of information.
-To get more information about a database, click the information icon (
).
-Additional biology and biodiversity databases are available on the Brown Library
Databases page.
-Use our Find@UVA Journal Finder
page to locate E-journals, E-magazines, and E-newspapers.
- Agricola 1970+ (CSA)
AGRICOLA is a bibliographic database consisting of literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture.
- Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts 1978+ (CSA)
The premier reference in the field of aquatic resources. ASFA monitors over 5,000 serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature.
- CephBase
CephBase is a dynamic HTML relational database-driven interactive web page. The purpose of CephBase is to provide life history, distribution, catch and taxonomic data on all living species of cephalopods (octopus, squid, cuttlefish and nautilus). - Duckdata - North American
Waterfowl and Their Wetland Habitats
Duckdata provides a comprehensive bibliography of published literature on the ecology, conservation, and management of North American waterfowl and their wetland habitats.
- EMBL Reptile
Database
This database is intended to provide information on the classification of all living reptiles by listing all species and their pertinent higher taxa. The database therefore covers all living snakes, lizards, amphisbaenians and crocodiles.
- Entomology Abstracts 1981+ (CSA)
All recent research reports of direct relevance to entomology are assembled here, with coverage including insects, arachnids, myriapods, onychophorans, and terrestrial isopods from the most ancient fossilized forms to newly-discovered species.
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management 1981+ (CSA)
This multidisciplinary database provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 4,000 scientific journals and thousands of other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
- Faunmap
FAUNMAP is an electronic database documenting the late Quaternary distribution of mammal species in the United States. The primary purpose of this database is to investigate the evolution of mammalian communities.
- FishBase - A Global Information
System on Fishes
FishBase is a relational database with fish information to cater to different professionals such as research scientists, fisheries managers, zoologists and many more. FishBase on the web contains information on practically all 23,500 fish species known to science. - International Plant Names Index
The International Plant Names Index (IPNI) is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of all seed plants. Its goal is to eliminate the need for repeated reference to primary sources for basic bibliographic information about plant names. - OBIS - Ocean Biogeographic Information System
OBIS is an on-line, open-access, globally-distributed network of systematic, ecological, and environmental information systems. Collectively, these systems operate as a dynamic, global digital atlas to communicate biological information about the ocean and its species. - Oceanic Abstracts 1981+ (CSA)
This database focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics dealing with marine and brackish-water environments.
- Plant Science 1994+ (CSA)
Plant Science is a bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focussing on all plant scientific aspects, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental biology.
- Species 2000
Species 2000 has the objective of enumerating all known species of plants, animals, fungi and microbes on Earth as the baseline dataset for studies of global biodiversity. It will also provide a simple access point enabling users to link from here to other data systems for all groups of organisms, using direct species-links. Users worldwide will be able to verify the scientific name, status and classification of any known species via the Species Locator, which provides access to species checklist data drawn from an array of participating databases. - World Conservation Monitoring
Centre Databases
A large and varied collection of databases concerning nature conservation of species, protected areas, forests, marine and coastal resources, national biodiversity profiles, and the WCMC Library catalog.
Web Resources
Comprehensive Subject Lists
- Academic Info - Biodiversity
- Biology Browser (from BIOSIS)
- BUBL Link - Biodiversity
- Early Classics in Biogeography, Distribution and Biodiversity Studies to 1950
- FirstGov for Science
- Galaxy - Biodiversity
- National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII) Biodiversity-Species Diversity Page
- National Science Digital Library
- Open Directory Project - Biodiversity
- World Environmental Library
- WWW Virtual Library - Ecology and Biodiversity
- Yahoo - Biodiversity
General Topics
- ActionBioscience.org
- Australia's Biodiversity Clearing House Mechanism
- Australian Biological Resources Study
- BioCISE - Resource Identification for a Biological Collection Information Service in Europe
- Biodiversity Explorer
- Biodiversity Support Program (BSP)
- Biodiversity Resources in Belgium
- Biodiversity Worldmap
- Convention on Biodiversity - Clearinghouse Mechanism
- Convention on Biological Diversity (New Zealand)
- Early Classics in Biogeography, Distribution, and Diversity Studies to 1950
- Environment Australia
- European Natural History Specimen Information Network (ENHSIN)
- European Register of Marine Species
- Global Biodiversity Information Facility
- Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS)
- Investigate Biodiversity
- IOPI Global Plant Checklist
- IUCN Species Information Service
- MarLIN - The Marine Life Information Network for Britain and Ireland
- NatureServe - An Online Encyclopedia of Life
- SINGER - System-wide Information Network for Genetic Resources
- Species Analyst
- Tree of Life Homepage
- U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
- World Biodiversity Database
Maps
Threatened Species Information
- Animal Info - Information on Rare, Threatened, and Endangered Mammals
- ARKive
- Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species
- Endangered Species Act (United States)
- IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
- NatureServe
- Threatened Animals of the World
- U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service List of Threatened and Endangered Animals and Plants
- World Wildlife Fund Endangered Species Page
Organizations
- CIRS.net (Scientific Organization Portal)
- All Species Foundation
- Biodiversity Support Program
- Center for Biodiversity and Conservation
- Conservation International
- Endangered Species Coalition
- IUCN - The World Conservation Union
- Species Survival Commission
Questions? Call the Brown Library Information Desk at 924-3628.
