Applied Mathematics Research Guide
| Subject Librarian: Fred O'Bryant | I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
| Recommended Reference Works | |
|---|---|
|
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations Elsevier's Dictionary of Mathematics MATH Reference QA5 .E48 2000 Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics Brown Library Reference QA276.15 .E84 1998 |
Dictionary of Applied Math for Engineers and Scientists CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics Brown Library Reference QA5 .W45 1999 Handbook of Applied Mathematics for Engineers and Scientists Brown Library Stacks TA 332 .K87 1991 |
Databases / Indexes
Book Indexes
Search these databases for books.
- MathSciNet 1940+
- VIRGO
Information on over 4 million books, journals, and other items held in the University of Virginia's libraries, including business, health sciences, and law. - Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical
Information Catalogue
Search for books, technical reports, journals and conference proceedings in all areas of science, engineering, health sciences and agriculture. - Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. These resources include many hard-to-find and scarce items often not readily available elsewhere. UVA faculty and students may request books from CRL's collections via Interlibrary Services. - Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering
and Technology
The Linda Hall Library, a private institution funded by endowment, serves the scientific research community as a resource for engineering and technical materials, including over 600,000 volumes, 1.1 million microforms, U.S. Patents since 1946, and subscriptions to 16,500 journals. - WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Contains records from thousands of North American libraries.
Conference Proceedings Indexes
Search this database for citations to conference proceedings papers.
- Conference Papers Index 1982+ (CSA)
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. - PapersFirst 1993+ (FirstSearch)
Citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia. Updated monthly.
Journal Indexes
-Search these indexes for citations to journal articles.
-Additional applied math databases are available on the Brown Library
Databases page.
-Use our Find@UVA Journal Finder
page to locate E-journals, E-magazines, and E-newspapers.
- Applied Science and Technology Index 1983+ (FirstSearch)
Best database for undergraduate research. Engineering, physics, math, chemistry, computers. - Mathematics Indexes, Abstracts,
Bibliographies, and Table of Contents Services
From the University of Houston libraries. - Mathematics
Web (Elsevier)
Mathematics Web provides an integrated search of journal articles and preprints from Elsevier journals, as well as services to facilitate research in pure mathematics, applied mathematics and statistics. - MathSciNet 1940+
Based on the data in Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, leading publications that catalog and review research literature in mathematics. - Compendex 1969+ (Engineering Village)
The world's premiere interdisciplinary engineering database. - INSPEC 1969+ (Engineering Village)
Scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings in computing, electrical engineering, physics. - INSPEC Archive Science Abstracts 1898-1968 (Ovid)
The Inspec Archive Science Abstracts provides access to 71 years of science abstracts in the fields of physics, electrical engineering, and control technology. In addition to the abstracts, this database includes the accompanying tables, graphs and diagrams when available. - Web of Science (Science Citation Index) 1970+
Containing Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Web of Science offers multidisciplinary searching and seamless access to cited reference searching. The WOS databases include bibliographic and citation information for articles from over 5,700 science and engineering journals, as well as social sciences and humanities journals. Updated weekly.
Web Resources
Comprehensive Subject Lists
- David J. Wright's Applied Math Bookmarks
- EULER - European Libraries and Electronic Resources in Mathematical Sciences
- FirstGov for Science
- Internet Resources for Mathematics [pdf file, British slant]
- Mathematical Atlas - a Guide to Modern Mathematics
- Mathematics on the Web -- from the American Mathematical Society
- MathGate - An Internet Resource Catalogue for Mathematics
- MathSearch
- Metamath Home Page - Includes over 3000 completely worked out proofs in logic and set theory and more
- National Science Digital Library
- Probability Web
- WWW Virtual Library - Mathematics
- Yahoo Index - Applied Mathematics
Organizations
- CIRS.net (Scientific Organization Portal)
- American Mathematical Society
- Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics
Software
Questions? Call the Brown Library Information Desk at 924-3628.
