Southern Africa and Its Environment
| Subject Librarian: Rebecca Pappert | I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
Databases / Indexes
Book Indexes
Search these databases for books.
North America
- VIRGO
Information on 5 million books, journals, and other items held in the University of Virginia's libraries, including business, health sciences, and law. - Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical
Information Catalogue
Search for books, technical reports, journals and conference proceedings in all areas of science, engineering, health sciences and agriculture. - Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. These resources include many hard-to-find and scarce items often not readily available elsewhere. UVA faculty and students may request books from CRL's collections via Interlibrary Services. - Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering
and Technology
The Linda Hall Library, a private institution funded by endowment, serves the scientific research community as a resource for engineering and technical materials, including over 600,000 volumes, 1.1 million microforms, U.S. Patents since 1946, and subscriptions to 16,500 journals. - WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Contains records from thousands of North American libraries.
Africa
- African Books Collective
African Books Collective, founded, owned and governed by African publishers, seeks to strengthen indigenous African publishing through collective action and to increase the visibility and accessibility of the wealth of African scholarship and culture. ABC is an organisation of 69 independent and autonomous African publishers. ABC markets and distributes African published books globally outside Africa, and publishes resource material for African book and publishing communities. - DISA - Digital Imaging Project of South Africa
The aim of the DISA project is to make accessible to scholars and researchers world-wide South African material of high socio-political interest which would otherwise be difficult to locate and use. - Universidade Eduardo Mondlane (Mozambique)
Direcção dos Serviços de Documentação (Libraries)
The Universidade Eduardo Mondlane is one of the Southern African universities partnering with the University of Virginia in a research and education consortium designed to study African environmental issues. While this site describes the library collections of the University, it does not currently link to an online catalog. This web page is mostly in Portuguese. - University of Botswana Libraries
The University of Botswana is one of the Southern African universities partnering with the University of Virginia in a research and education consortium designed to study African environmental issues. - University of Venda (Univen)
The University of Venda is one of the Southern African universities partnering with the University of Virginia in a research and education consortium designed to study African environmental issues. - University of the Witwatersrand Libraries
The University of the Witwatersrand is one of the Southern African universities partnering with the University of Virginia in a research and education consortium designed to study African environmental issues.
Journal Article Databases
- Search these databases for citations and articles in professional and technical
journals and in popular and semi-technical magazines.
- Additional environmental sciences databases are available on the Brown Library
Databases page.
-Use our Find@UVA Journal Finder
page to locate E-journals, E-magazines, and E-newspapers.
- AfricaBib - Bibliography of Africana Periodical
Literature Database
Indexes over 40,000 items that appear in over 325 periodical titles. Searchable by keywords, authors, categories, etc. - Biological Abstracts (Ovid) 1985-
Good database for graduate research.
Covers all areas of biological, biomedical, ecological, and agricultural topics. - CAB Direct
With over four million records dating back to 1973, CAB Direct covers research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, human health, human nutrition, animal health and the management and conservation of natural resources. - Ecology Abstracts (CSA) 1982+
Good database for graduate research.
Covers all areas of ecology including global environmental change and destruction, evolutionary biology, food chains, erosion and land reclamation, pollution and many other related topics. - Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management 1981+ (CSA)
This multidisciplinary database provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 4000 scientific journals and thousands of other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. - Expanded Academic ASAP 1980+ (Infotrac Web)
Good database for undergrad major and general research.
Articles covering astronomy and general sciences, as well as environment, religion, law, history, psychology, humanities, current events, and sociology. - GeoRef 1785+ (CSA)
Good database for graduate research.
International coverage of 3000 journals in geology and earth science. - Water Resources Abstracts 1967+ (CSA)
Covers the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources - Web of Science (Science Citation Index) 1987+
Good database for graduate research.
Containing Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Web of Science offers multidisciplinary searching and seamless access to cited reference searching. The WOS databases include bibliographic and citation information for articles from over 5,700 science and engineering journals, as well as social sciences and humanities journals. Updated weekly.
Conference Proceedings Indexes
- Search these databases for citations to conference proceedings papers. Note that many journal article databases also index conference papers.
- African Studies - Conferences and Other Events on Africa
- Conference Papers Index 1982+ (CSA)
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. - getCITED
getCITED is a free, online, member-controlled academic database, directory and discussion forum. In addition to the books and articles accessible with other databases, book chapters, conference papers, working papers, reports, papers in conference proceedings, and other such research outlets can all be searched for within getCITED. - PapersFirst 1993+ (FS)
Citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia. Updated monthly.
Current Awareness and Recent News
- Many journal publishers and database vendors offer alerting services which you can use to have journal tables of contents or other information about articles of interest E-mailed to you on a periodic basis. Ask a librarian for assistance in identifying and setting up these services. You can learn more about keeping current in your field at Alison McNab's Keeping Your Research Up to Date web page or at the Engineering Current Awareness Services web page from the Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library (EEVL).
- Various web and internet pages also provide current awareness services. Here are some
Web Resources
Comprehensive Subject Lists
- Maps of Africa
- Academic Info Environmental History
- Academic Info Environmental Studies
- Africa (Companion Web Site to PBS TV Series)
- Africa - Environment (Univ. Pennsylvania)
- Africa Research Central - A Clearinghouse of African Primary Sources
- African Studies Internet Resources
- Amazing Environmental Organization Web Directory
- Biodiversity Explorer (Featuring Southern Africa)
- EarthTrends - The Environmental Information Portal
- ELDIS
- ELDIS - Country Profiles
- FirstGov for Science
- Librarians' Index to the Internet - Environment
- National Library for the Environment
- National Science Digital Library
- Water in Africa (Basic Level)
- World Environmental Library
- World Soil Resources Map Index
- WWW Virtual Library - Earth Science
- Yahoo Index - Environment and Nature
Water Resources
Africa and South African Search Engines
Use these web search engines to locate information from African and Southern African web resources. For completeness you should also search using more general search engines or ones with worldwide emphasis.
- Aardvark
- Africa South of the Sahara
- Ananzi
- Funnel
- M-web
- Mbendi
- SABTIN
- Susy Search
- WoYaa!
- AlltheWeb.com
- SciCentral
- Scirus
- Teoma
Organizations
Questions? Call the Brown Library Information Desk at 924-3628.
