Aerospace Engineering Research Guide
| Subject Librarian: Fred O'Bryant | I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
| Recommended Reference Works | |
|---|---|
|
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Encyclopedia Astronautica CRCnetBASE CRC Press Handbook and Reference Collection in addition to ENGnetBASE ENGnetBASE CRC Press Engineering Handbook and Reference Collection Knovel Library Engineering and Science Handbook and Reference Collection |
NASA Thesaurus Referex Large collection of engineering e-books and references Safari Tech Books Online Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations SAE Dictionary of Aerospace Engineering Brown Library Reference TL509 .S24 1998 |
Databases / Indexes
Book Indexes
Search these databases for books.
- VIRGO
Information on over 5 million books, journals, and other items held in the University of Virginia's libraries, including business, health sciences, and law. - Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical
Information Catalogue
Search for books, technical reports, journals and conference proceedings in all areas of science, engineering, health sciences and agriculture. - Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. These resources include many hard-to-find and scarce items often not readily available elsewhere. UVA faculty and students may request books from CRL's collections via Interlibrary Services. - Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering
and Technology
The Linda Hall Library, a private institution funded by endowment, serves the scientific research community as a resource for engineering and technical materials, including over 600,000 volumes, 1.1 million microforms, U.S. Patents since 1946, and subscriptions to 16,500 journals. - WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Contains records from thousands of North American libraries.
Conference Proceedings Indexes
Search this database for citations to conference proceedings papers.
- SFTE Symposium Paper Search Utility
From the Society of Flight Test Engineers. - Conference Papers Index 1982+ (CSA)
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. - PapersFirst 1993+ (FS)
Citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia. Updated monthly.
Journal Indexes
-Search these indexes for citations to journal articles.
-Additional aerospace databases are available on the Brown Library
Databases page.
-Use our Find@UVA Journal Finder
page to locate E-journals, E-magazines, and E-newspapers.
- ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies
& Engineering 1981+ (CSA)
Includes new technologies in all areas of engineering, science and allied subject areas. - Aerospace and High Technology Database 1986+ (CSA)
Good database for graduate research. The Aerospace Database provides bibliographic coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. The database also covers technology development and applications in complementary and supporting fields such as chemistry, geosciences, physics, communications, and electronics. In addition to periodic literature, the database also includes coverage of reports issued by NASA, other U.S. government agencies, international institutions, universities, and private firms. - PlaneCrashInfo.com 1920+
Included in the database are more than 3,800 commercial and military airline accident records, large and small, covering the years of 1920 to the present. - Compendex 1969+ (Engineering Village)
The world's premiere interdisciplinary engineering database. - INSPEC 1969+ (Engineering Village)
Scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings in computing, electrical engineering, physics. - METADEX 1966+ (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
Metals and metallurgy. - Web of Science (Science Citation Index) 1970+
Containing Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Web of Science offers multidisciplinary searching and seamless access to cited reference searching. The WOS databases include bibliographic and citation information for articles from over 5,700 science and engineering journals, as well as social sciences and humanities journals. Updated weekly.
Web Resources
Comprehensive Subject Lists
- AERADE
- Aerospace Resources on the Internet
- Aerospace Technology Website for the Aerospace Industry
- Aerospaceweb.org
- Airfoil Database
- Aviation Home Page
- Aviation Safety Links (from Embry-Riddle University)
- EEVL
- Embry-Riddle University Virtual Libraries
- FirstGov for Science
- GlobalSpec - Components and Suppliers Database
- NACA Airfoils
- National Science Digital Library
- RussianSpaceWeb.com
- Space Database
- SpaceRef
- StarWorlds
- Summary of Airfoil Data (NACA Report 824)
- Women in Aviation Resource Center
Organizations
- CIRS.net (Scientific Organization
Portal)
- Air Transport Association
- American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
- European Space Agency
- Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)
- Helicopter Association International
- Indian Space Research Organisation
- International Air Transport Association
- International Civil Aviation Organization
- National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
- National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) Aviation Page
Patents
Standards
Technical Reports
- Technical Reports Information on the Web
- NACA (National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics) Reports -- 1917-1958
- NASA Technical Reports Servers
Questions? Call the Brown Library Information Desk at 924-3628.
