What Engineers Do
| Subject Librarian: Fred O'Bryant | I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
This bibliography consists of references to books and other sources of information that explain what the typical job duties of various kinds of engineers include, as well as other kinds of related information about engineering and science. The titles are arranged by subject disciplines. Titles in each group are in alphabetical order. A brief description of each title is also included, if needed to clarify the nature and scope of the source. It is intended as a guide for staff and students to assist them in answering the question "What does a [SPECIFIC TYPE] of engineer do?"
All materials listed here are located in the Brown Science and Engineering Library in Clark Hall unless otherwise noted.
General Sources
Students should especially take note of the Engineering Career Info collection available at the Brown SEL Information Desk, as well as the sources listed below.
American Society for Engineering Education
A premier site for engineering educators. The site includes Engineering:
Your Future which is intended as a pre-college resource but which includes
a variety of information about engineering careers.
CPST Comments (TA157.S4)
Information about the employment outlook for various scientific and engineering
fields.
Career Find-O-Rama
A searchable database that offers "snapshots" of various careers and other data
useful for learning about various kinds of work and job opportunities.
Career Planning Center for Beginning
Scientists and Engineers
The Career Planning Center (CPC) for Beginning Scientists and Engineers is the
"one-stop shopping" location for job openings and the guidance and information
needed to make decisions about education and career choices.
Careers in engineering (Ald Gov Docs EP 1.2:C 18/7) U.S. EPA, 1992.
Careers in Engineering (REF TA157.G37 1993) VGM Career Horizons, 1993.
Presents a brief history of engineering and explores the major engineering areas
and specialties. Separate chapters on women and minorities in engineering.
Careers in Science and Engineering - a Student Planning Guide to Grad School
and Beyond (REF TA157.C284 1996) National Academy of Science, National Academy
of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, 1996.
Focuses on career planning, particularly in non-academic settings, but also presents
profiles of scientists and engineers to illustrate a variety of career paths.
Discover Engineering Online
"Engineering has been called the invisible profession or the stealth profession
because most people have no clue what engineers do." This website, provided by
the National Engineers Week and Discover Engineering team, is a Website dedicated
to showing just what engineers do.
Engineering as a Career, 4th Ed. (TA157.S6 1983) McGraw-Hill, 1983.
Chapters 5 and 6 deal with the branches and functions of engineering.
Engineering: Your Future
This site is a guide for those interested in engineering and engineering technology
careers. By exploring these pages, you can learn about the different engineering
and engineering technology fields, interesting people who got their start as engineers,
what engineers actually do, and how to get (and pay for) an engineering education.
From the ASEE.
Engineers: a Quarterly Bulletin on Careers in the Profession (TA157.E64)
Covers trends in national and international employment, compensation and benefits,
enrollments and degrees, inclusion of women and minorities, and other topics.
Graduating Engineer and Computer Careers (TA157.G7122 - Current Issues
on Current Periodicals Shelves) Peterson's Magazine Group.
A magazine which examines issues and roles facing graduates in the engineering
and computer fields.
Guide to Engineering
A guide to the various fields of engineering prepared by the Tau Beta Pi engineering
society chapter at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
Introduction to the Engineering Profession, 2nd Ed. (REF TA157.B87 1995)
HarperCollins College Publishers, 1995.
Includes brief descriptions of various engineering fields along with tips for
developing the survival skills needed to master them.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Engineering (Ref TA9.M36 1993) McGraw-Hill,
1992.
Contains brief explanations of all the major types of engineering, as well as
the sub-disciplines contained in each.
The Marshall Cavendish Guide to Careers in Science (Ref Q123.H732 1987)
Marshall Cavendish, 1987.
Contains information on the history, work, qualifications, employment, and famous
persons associated with all branches of science and engineering.
National Society of Professional
Engineers Student Page
The NSPE Student page had been developed to help high school and college students
learn about engineering, particularly about becoming a professional engineer.
NSPE promotes the development of professional engineers in the United States and
represents all engineering disciplines.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Official publication of the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Also available in
hardcopy in the Government Documents section of Alderman Library.
On Becoming an Engineer - a Guide to Career Paths (REF TA157.I753 1997)
IEEE Press, 1997.
Offers chapters on engineering careers and career profiles along with information
useful for pursuing a successful academic program in engineering.
Professional Careers Sourcebook (Info Desk HF5382.5.U5P76 1996) Gale
Reseaerch, Inc., 1996.
Identifies a broad spectrum of resources used to explore professional career opportunities.
Shows where to find information about specific careers.
Vision Engineer
An Internet reference website aimed at helping students who wish to discover more
about the profession. Targeted primarily at university students, Vision Engineer
contains a diverse database of engineering related articles. These articles are
intended to stimulate an interest in engineering by illustrating its many interesting
and dynamic applications.
What Can
I Do with This Major?
A convenient website that helps you connect majors with careers. For each major that
interests you, choose "Information" to find an outline of common career areas, typical
employers, and strategies designed to maximize career opportunities. Choose "Links" to
find a list of websites that provide information about listed majors and related careers.
Aerospace Engineering
Young Professionals' Aerospace Career Handbook (TL561.Y68 1994) American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, 1994.
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Agricultural Engineering
American Society of Agricultural Engineers
Applied Mathematics
SIAM Student Web Page Career Information
Biomedical Engineering
Biomedical Engineering Society
Biomedical Engineering Society Bulletin
Biomedical Engineering Society Career Guide
Designing a Career in Biomedical Engineering
Institute of Biological Engineering
NIH National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering
What Biomedical Engineering Is
Chemical Engineering
American Institute of Chemical Engineers
What Do Chemical Engineers Do?
Civil Engineering
American Society of Civil Engineers
Civil engineering careers : a user's guide for awareness, retention, and curriculum programs. By J.M. Mason and L.M. Kostival. Washington, DC : National Academy Press, 1994. (TE7.N25 No.347 Pt.2)
Computer Science
Association for Computing Machinery
Electrical Engineering
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc.
Institution of Electrical Engineers
Environmental Engineering
American Academy of Environmental Engineers
Industrial Engineering
Institute of Industrial Engineers
Choosing a Career in Industrial Engineering
Materials Science and Engineering
Mechanical Engineering
American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air Conditioning Engineers
American Society of Mechanical Engineers
American Society of Plumbing Engineers
Society for Automotive Engineering (SAE)
Mining and Petroleum Engineering
American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers
Naval Engineering
American Society of Naval Engineers
Nuclear Engineering
Safety Engineering
American Society of Safety Engineers
Society of Fire Protection Engineers
Systems Engineering
INCOSE - International Council on Systems Engineering
Systems Engineering and Operations Research Information from GMU
Questions? Call the Information Desk at 924-3628.
