How Things Work Bibliography
|
This bibliography consists of major reference titles and other works that have a similar focus: describing how a product is made or how a process or machine operates. The titles are arranged by subject disciplines ranging from general to specific. Titles in each group are in alphabetical order. The list was originally intended for staff and student assistants to assist users with their "How Things Work" assignment. You may also wish to review the Getting Started on Your Term Paper for "How Things Work" web page for useful information about how to search for information about how things work. Another good resource is the InfoTrac Web guide, which tells you how to use this resource for your research.
UVA Professor Louis Bloomfield's How Things Work web site contains many brief explanations of common machines and processes. Also check the How Things Work web site from International Access Online. Or try the How Stuff Works page by Marshall Brain, including links to other similar sites.
All materials listed below are located in the Science and Engineering Library in Clark Hall unless otherwise noted.
General and Introductory Works
- General Engineering
- Aerospace
- Chemical Engineering
- Civil Engineering
- Computer Science
- Electrical Engineering
- Mechanical Engineering
General and Introductory Works
This section includes titles that cover both science and technology in general. Each title is encyclopedic in scope and the texts are often accompanied by photographs or illustrations.
- Calculated Risks: How to Know When Numbers Deceive You
(QA273.15 .G54 2002) - Engines of Our Ingenuity
The Engines of Our Ingenuity is a radio program that tells the story of how our culture is formed by human creativity, written and hosted by John Lienhard. This web site houses the transcripts for every episode heard since the show's inception in 1988. Streaming audio is available on each of the posted episodes. Many deal with common artifacts and inventions. - Encyclopedia of Sports Science
(REF GV558.E53 1997)
This encyclopedia seeks to answer both questions about the physics of sports (e.g. what makes a skate slide across the ice, why does a curveball spin, etc.) and about how the body functions when participating in sports. - A Fly for the Prosecution: How Insect Evidence Helps Solve Crimes
(RA1063.45 .G64 2000) - Great Scientific Achievements
(REF Q123.H732 1994)
Provides a series of 367 articles arranged in chronological order from the mid-1880's to 1994. Samples of coverage include: global warming, the big bang theory, the discovery of radioactivity, and the repair of the Hubble Space Telescope. - Guns and How They Work
(TS533 .H648) - The Handy Science Answer Book, 2nd Ed.
(REF Q173.H353 1997b)
Compiled by the Science and Technology Department of the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, this source provides answers to more than 1,200 unusual, interesting or frequently asked questions in the areas of science, pseudo-science and technology. - How Cities Work : an Introduction
(HT166 .N42 1977) - How Everyday Things Are Made
If you've ever wondered how things are madeproducts like candy, cars, airplanes, or bottlesor if you've been interested in manufacturing processes, like forging, casting, or injection molding, then this is the right place to look. - How Maps Work : Representation, Visualization, and Design
(GA 10.3 .M32 1995) - How Products Are Made - An Illustrated Guide to Product Manufacturing
(REF TS183.H69 1994)
This series provides detailed yet accessible information on the manufacture of a variety of items, from everyday household products to heavy machinery to sophisticated electronic equipment. See also online. - How Things Don't Work
(TX335 P34 1977) - How Things Work (Louis Bloomfield)
(REF QC21.2 .B59 2001) - How Things Work in Your Home (and What to Do When They Don't)
(REF TH4817.3.H677 1985b)
Articles in this book describe in words and pictures how each machine in your house does its job. There are also illustrations and text that explain how to disassemble things, replace parts and make adjustments. - How Your House Works
(REF TH4817.V36 1995)
Similar to "How Things Work in Your Home", this is an extensive collection of illustrations which describe the inner workings of a house as well as its outside structure. The work begins with a section on major mechanical systems (electrical, heating/air conditioning, plumbing), then continues with the main structure (framing, roofing, windows, doors), and finishes with the inner surfaces and home design basics. - Inventions and Discoveries
(REF T15.I58 1993)
This is an updated edition of the World Almanac Book of Inventions (see call # T15.G57 1985) as it provides an extensive collection of inventions and inventors that are well-known in everyday life. Topics covered range from Transportation, the Arts, Games, and Toys to Media and Communications, Medicine and Space. All entries are very brief. This new edition also discusses potential on-going projects as well as projects of the future. - Marshall Brain's How Stuff Works
(REF T47 .B732 2001)
- Marshall Brain's More How Stuff Works
(REF T47 .B7325 2003)
- Milestones in Science and Technology
(REF Q199.M68 1994)
This is a guide for finding basic data on important and interesting topics in science and technology. It includes not only topics that will be considered important by discipline specialists but also items that are commonly found in today's homes or workplaces. Each entry also provides data on additional source guides or additional reading materials. - National Geographic's How Things Work : Everyday Technology Explained
(REF T47 .L29 1999) - New How Things Work: Everyday Technology Explained
(REF T47 .L2923 2004) - The New Illustrated Science and Invention Encyclopedia
(REF Q126.N49 1994)
A collection of over 1,000 scientific topics from A-Z. Entries contain many color photographs and drawings. An older edition in 26 volumes is also available on the Brown Library Book Floor (Q123.H73 1987). - The New York Public Library Science Desk Reference
(REF 173.B25 1995)
Provides a basic understanding of the most commonly studied scientific disciplines. Topics are presented in short and concise paragraphs, most of them accompanied by descriptions, charts or illustrations. At the end of each chapter, there are brief biographies of famous people in the field, highlights of science through history, and additional sources of information. - Product and Process: an Index to the Way Things Work
(REF Z7911.F5 1988)
This is an index that points the user to any of 20 or so "how things work" type of books based on the chosen subject. Note that the Science and Engineering Library may not own all the books referred to and that products and processes invented after the mid-1980s are not included. - Scientific American "Working Knowledge" Columns
(Current Issues Shelved with Current Periodicals; Bound Volumes in Stacks T1.S5)
Starting with the April 1996 issue, this venerable technical journal began a series of one-or-two-page expositions of the inner workings of familiar objects and processes. The column is always near the end of each issue. Manythough not allof the columns are also available from the Scientific American web site in the "Past Issues" section. Here is a list of the topics that have appeared so far:
1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 Jan. Not Published Man-Made Snow Holograms Grand Piano Instant Film Feb. Not Published Arthroscopic Surgery Hydraulic Brakes Giant Cranes Catalytic Converters Mar. Not Published Stoping Bullets E-Mail Ice-Resurfacing Machines
(Zamboni)Electricity Meters Apr. Velcro Smoke Detectors Self-Operating Napkin Frisbee Flight Soap and Detergents May Elevator Safety Antishoplifting Labels Polymerase Chain Reaction Aspirin Gas Pumps Jun. Air Bags Decaffeinating Coffee Digital Cameras Instant Glue Space Suits 1 Jul. Halogen Lights Guitar-Effects Pedals Digital Touch Pads Aerial Fireworks Space Suits 2 Aug. Slot Machines Optical Fibers Scuba Regulators Air Conditioners Autofocus Systems Sep. Freeze Drying Baseball Pitches Compact Disc Player Retractable Stadium Roofs Flight Recorders Oct. Photocopiers Fish Ladders Motion Picture Projectors Laser Printers Contact Lenses Nov. TV Ratings Liquid Crystal Displays Not Published Toothpaste Home Pregnancy Tests Dec. Pop Tops Polygraphs Parachutes Water Filters Disposable Diapers
2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 Jan. Flat Speakers Gas Masks Ballistics Virtual 1st Down Marker Feb. Flu Vaccine Aerial & Satellite Imaging Synthetic Diamonds Automobile Black Box Mar. Radar Guns Combination Locks Fingerprint Readers Quartz Watches Apr. Touch Screens Lab Tests Transdermal Patches Fuel Injection May Bar-Code Readers Automobile Navigation Antennas Laser Eye Surgery Jun. Golf Balls Gyroscope Guidance Cochlear Implants Submarine Stealth Jul. Sunscreen Windmills Scanning Electron Microscope Pipe Organs Rapid Prototyping Aug. Human-Powered Electronics Smart Cards Night Vision Medical Imaging Ball Bearings Sep. Flea Treatments Not Published Bill Validators Yo-Yo Smart Glass Oct. Computer Mouse Flat Displays Smart Fabrics Earthquake Protection Roads Nov. Ground Fault Circuit Interrupters Weather Radar Nails and Staples Pacemakers Nuts3 Dec. Electronic Toll Collection Ink-Jet Printing
- Scientific American Library
(Call numbers vary)
This series is made up of individual volumes based on articles from the magazine Scientific American. Many of the volumes may contain articles about how some particular process or piece of equipment functions. Search for individual volumes in VIRGO by doing a keyword search on the phrase 'scientific american library' (include the single quotes!) to obtain a list of all the volumes in the series or by doing a keyword search on the phrase along with one or more specific terms of interest to narrow the topic, e.g. 'scientific american library' AND lasers. - Scientists and Inventors
(REF T39.F37)
More than 150 biographies are included in this collection. Entries are two pages long and are arranged in chronological order, and include photos and drawings illustrating each invention. - Engineering and the Advancement of Human Welfare: Ten Outstanding Achievements
1964-1989
(REF T20.E5 1989) National Academy of Engineering, 1989.
These ten diverse engineering achievements have been selected and presented by engineers from the National Academy of Engineering. Each entry is about three pages long and is accompanied by beautiful photographs. The ten achievements are:- The Moon Landing
- Application Satellites
- The Microprocessor
- Computer-Aided Design and Manufacturing
- The CAT Scan
- Advanced Composite Materials
- The Jumbo Jet
- Lasers
- Fiber Optic Communications
- Genetically Engineered Products.
- Toshiba-NSTA ExploraVision Awards
ExploraVision is a competition for all students in grades K-12 attending a school in the U.S., Canada, U.S. Territory or a Department of Defense school . It is designed to encourage students to combine their imagination with their knowledge of science and technology to explore visions of the future. Winners' websites include descriptions of how their devices operate. - The Way It Works: Man and His Machines
(T47.K45)
Provides a brief history of technology, how energy is obtained to run machinery, and describes a variety of machines and processes integral to modern life. - The Way Science Works: an Illustrated Exploration of Technology in Action
(REF T9.W32 1995)
Describes the machines and processes that shape our everyday lives. Organized around seven themes: transportation, information and entertainment, domestic technology, power and manufacturing, research and medicine, space, and molecules and materials. - The Way Things Work
(REF T47.W3913)
Also available in CDROM format (CF000628); inquire at SEL Circulation Desk.
Provides the answer to "how does this work" questions. Topics included ranged from the simplest mechanical functions of modern life to the most basic scientific principles and complex industrial processes. Each entry has one page of text accompanied by one page of drawings. - The Way Things Work Book of Nature
(REF QH541.B75 1980)
This is an illustrated encyclopedia of Man and Nature. Its emphasis is on living organisms and their ecological relationships. Sample topics include various forms energy, processes and cycles in the atmosphere, and the disposal or recycling of the waste products. - Where Stuff Comes From: How Toasters, Toilets, Cars, Computers, and Many Others
Things Come To Be As They Are
(REF TA148 .M65 2003) - Why Things Break: Understanding the World by the Way It Comes Apart
(TA409 .E32 2003) - World Almanac Book of Inventions
(REF T5.G57 1985)
Contains an extensive collection of inventions and inventors that are well- known in everyday life. Topics covered range from Transportation, the Arts, Games, and Toys to Media and Communications, Medicine and Space. All entries are very brief. - World of Invention
(REF T15.T779 1994)
A comprehensive one volume coverage of well-known as well as lesser- known inventions and inventors. Sample topics include everything from the wheel and axle to genetic engineering, skateboards to chewing gum, hydrogen to disposable diapers. - World of Scientific Discovery
(REF Q126.W67 1994)
Focuses on the process of scientific discovery rather than on technical explanations and scientific concepts. Also provides explanations on how and why the discovery came about as well as its social impact.
Biological Sciences
This section includes titles specializing in Biological, Medical, and Psychological Sciences. Drawings and graphics, if available, will be noted in the description of the individual title.
- Ants at Work: How an Insect Society is Organized
(QL568 .F7 G64 1999 ) - Becoming a Tiger: How Baby Animals Learn to Live in the Wild
(QL785 .M45 2004) - Encyclopedia of Microbiology
(REF QR9.E53 1992)
This multivolume encyclopedia deals with microorganisms and their roles in the area of agriculture and technology as well as public health and medicine. Topics covered include from specific areas of research, such as airborne microorganisms, to more general ones such as beer brewing or bread making techniques. - How Animals Work
(QP31.2 .S37) - How Birds Work: a Guide to Bird Biology
(QL673 .F73 1982) - How Emotions Work
(BF531 .K38 1999) - How the Circulatory System Works
(QP101 .M456 2001) - How the SEM (Scanning Electron Microscope) Works
- Intoxicating Minds: How Drugs Work
(On Order - Inquire at Info Desk) - Magic Molecules: How Drugs Work
(RM301.15 .A43 1998) - Magill's Survey of Science. Life Science Series
(REF QH307.2.M341991)
The 370 articles included are drawn from twenty eight areas of the life sciences, from molecular genetics and microbiology to animal behavior. Articles are each approximately seven pages long, each beginning with a note to indicate the field of the topic being presented. No graphics included. - McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
(REF Q121.M3 1997)
A collection of 7,500 entries covering all branches of pure and applied science. Articles are brief but usually accompanied by photographs or drawings plus a bibliography of sources cited. - Millions of Monarchs, Bunches of Beetles: How Bugs Find Strength in Numbers
(QL496 .W36 2000) - On the Move: How and Why Animals Travel in Groups
(QL775 .O6 2000) - Reaching for the Sun: How Plants Work
(QK50 .K46 1997)
Physical Sciences
The titles in this group focus on Physical and Applied Sciences. Drawings and graphics if available, will be noted in the description of the individual title.
- The Big Bang Theory: What It Is, Where It Came From, and Why It Works
(QB991 .B54 F69 2002) - Complete Book of Holograms: How They Work and How to Make Them
(TA1540 .K37 1987) - Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology
(REF Q123.E4974 1992)
Coverage includes chemistry, physics, geology, astronomy, computer science, meteorology and mineralogy. Entries offer in-depth information on the topic with graphics or drawings. Articles average ten to fifteen pages long. - How Things Work: the Physics of Everyday Life
(REF QC21.2 .B59 1997) - How Volcanoes Work This website is an educational resource that describes the science behind volcanoes and volcanic processes.
- Lasers: Harnessing the Atom's Light
(QC688.H37 1998)
This work explains the physics of lasers and outlines their development and many uses. - Magill's Survey of Science. Applied Science Series
(REF TA145.M298 1993)
Provides insights into twenty-eight areas of the applied sciences ranging from applied mathematics to mining, and from biotechnology to nuclear engineering. The average article is seven pages long, each begins with a note to indicate the type of applied science and the subject field being discussed. No graphics included. - McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
(REF Q121.M3 1997)
A collection of 7,500 entries covering all branches of pure and applied science. Articles are brief but usually accompanied by photographs or drawings plus a bibliography of sources cited. - Newnes Engineering & Physical Science Pocket Book, 2nd Ed.
(REF TA151.B47 1996)
Provides a ready reference to essential engineering and physical science formulas, definitions, and general information. Illustrations and diagrams usually accompany the text. - Physics of Sports
(PHYSICS, SEL, EDUCATION QC26.P49 1991)
This text delves into the physical laws and principles that govern the behavior of various kinds of sports. - Skateboard
Science
A web site devoted to the science, tips and tricks of skateboarding from the San Francisco Exploratorium. - Superconductor Information for the
Beginner
Provides a clear introduction to the world of superconductors. Starting appropriately with Heike Kamerlingh Onnes, the first man to observe superconductivity in 1911, a history of superconductors section familiarizes students and laymen with the development of materials that have no resistance to the flow of electricity. Subsequent sections include uses for superconductors, various types of superconductors, links to current superconductor news, and patents. - Why Chemical Reactions Happen
(QD501 .K44 2003)
Engineering
The Engineering section is divided into seven smaller areas: General Engineering; Aerospace Engineering; Chemical Engineering; Civil Engineering; Computer Science; Electrical Engineering; and Mechanical Engineering.
General Engineering
- The Biographical Dictionary of Scientists, Engineers and Inventions.
(REF TA 139.B56 1986)
Provides basic information on approximately 200 engineers and inventors. Periods covered are from the earliest inventions to the age of the microchip. Entries are two and one half columns each. Some diagrams but no portraits. - Famous Names in Engineering
(REF TA139.C37 1981)
Provides brief and informative biographies of 83 famous people whose laws, theories and inventions form the basis of any advanced course in engineering. Each entry is one page long complete with portrait and diagram. Subject areas covered range from Aerodynamics, Astronomy, and Ballistics to Metallurgy, Thermodynamics, and Thermometry. - Great Engineers and Pioneers in Technology
(REF TA139.G7)
Begins with the builders and craftmen mentioned in the earliest records of civilization and concludes with the inventors and entrepreneurs who pioneered the industrial revolution. There are a total of 373 profiles divided into 6 sections: the Ancient World; the Medieval; Islam and Europe; the Far East; the Renaissance; and the Industrial Revolution. - Machine Tools, What They Are and How to Work; an Introduction...
(TJ1125 .H45 1957)
Although an older reference, many of the basic ideas and processes involved in using these versions of machine tools will still be valid today. - The Technology Machine : How Maufacturing Will Work in the Year 2020
(TS176 .M64 1999)
Aerospace Engineering
-
Air and Space Smithsonian How Things Work: Series List
This is an online bibliography with some online fulltext articles about how various aerospace principles and devices operate. For listed articles not available online, please consult the library's backfile of Air and Space Smithsonian in the Journal Stacks with the call number TL501 .A553. - Concise Encyclopedia of Aeronautics & Space Systems
(REF TL509.C66 1993)
A comprehensive work covering all aspects of aeronautics and space systems. Article lengths vary but each of them is linked by an extensive cross-referencing system. The multi-level subject index provides the most important information source for locating a particular topic in the Encyclopedia. - Encyclopedia of Flight
(REF TL509 .E56 2002)
This 3-volume work is intended to bridge the gap "between theoretical concepts and practical applications, between scientific information and historical issues." Entries are alphabetically arranged; articles are between one and six pages in length and each generally includes a bibliography and cross references. Additionally, volume 3 includes a glossary and a bibliography and several useful sections: Organizations and Agencies, Flight Schools and Training Centers, Museums, International Airports, and Airplane Types among others. - The Guinness Book of Aircraft
(REF TL515.M577 1988b)
This is the aviation equivalent to the world famous publication The Guinness Book of Records. Topics covered are from Balloons, Airships, and Rotorcraft to Parachutes, Kites, and Gliders. Entries consist of long articles accompanied by black and white as well as color photographs. - How Things Fly
A web exhibit from the Smithsonian's National Air and Space Museum. - Magill's Survey of Science. Space Exploration Series
(REF TL790.M24 1989)
This title contains 335 articles covering the major programs and missions, manned and unmanned, that have been realized since the launch of the first artificial satellite: from Sputnik to space centers and launch sites; from socioeconomic implications of space exploration for industry, medicine and law to more than 50 articles on astrophysical phenomena; and from the planets and black holes to big bang theory. Each article averages 7 pages long. -
NASA: How Does This Work?
Have you ever wondered how humans can send machinesand each otherinto space, or how new technology is developed in the Space Program? This website showcases the creativity and dedication that allow the challenges of space flight to become some of our greatest achievements. - Who's Who in Space
(REF TL788.5.C37 1993)
This is the story of the people who took part in the first thirty years of manned space flight. It is a comprehensive biographical work that consists of essays as well as biographical profiles, organized by nationality.
Chemical Engineering
- Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and Design
(REF TP9.E66)
This is a multi-volume encyclopedia that covers almost all aspects of industrial chemical processing. Each volume has 20-30 contributors and many articles are reprinted from chemical engineering and other journals. - Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
(REF TP9.E685 1991)
Known as the Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia, this multi-volume set presents a wide-ranging collection of chemical processing technology topics of great concern to all scientists and engineers. It is also an indispensible information source for all producers and users of chemical products and materials. - Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Engineering
(REF TP1087.E46 1985)
This is the standard work in the areas of polymers and polymer chemistry. Articles are lengthy and detailed, accompanied by charts and diagrams. Complete information on properties is provided for each polymer listed.
Civil Engineering
- Building Design and Construction Handbook.
(TH151.B825 1994)
A compendium of the best of current building design and construction practices. There is an emphasis on fundamental principles and practical applications information as well as new developments, new ideas and new concepts. - Handbook of HVAC (Heating, Ventilating, and Air-Conditioning) Design.
(REF TH7011.H36 1990)
This is a practical guide for designing and operating HVAC systems. It details the necessary steps for planning, design, equipment selection, operation and maintenance. It also covers a broad range of devices from hot water, electric, and solar space heaters to burners and all air- and water- conditioning. - The Encyclopedia of How It's Built.
(TH145 .E53 1979)
Provides short chapters on such things as arches, assembly lines, bridges, cathedrals, demolition, flood control, lighthouses, pyramids, ships and docks, surveying and tunnels. - Magill's Survey of Science. Earth Science Series
(REF QE28.M33 1990)
The 377 articles included contain information on a variety of topics of interest to civil engineers, such as dams and flood control, minerals and building materials, and earthquakes. Articles are each approximately seven pages long, each beginning with a note to indicate the field of the topic being presented. No graphics included. - Means Illustrated Construction Dictionary
(REF TH9.M4 1985)
This is a collection of vocabulary used in the modern construction industry put together by many industry groups, associations, societies and manufacturers. It also includes slang, regional, and colloquial terms. Most of the entries come with drawings and graphics.
Computer Science
- Computer Viruses, Worms, Data Diddlers, Killer Programs, and Other Threats
to Your System: What They Are, How They Work, and How to Defend Your PC, Mac,
or Mainframe
(QA76.76.C68 M38 1989) - How Computer Programming Works
(QA76.6 .A654 2000) - How Computers Work
(REF QA76.5 .W488 2002) - How Debuggers Work: Algorithms, Data Structure, and Architecture
(QA76.9 .D43 R67 1996) - How Local Area Networks Work: What They Are, What They Do
(TK 5105.7 .K667 1995) - How Networks Work
(TK5105.5 .D49 1998) - How the Internet Works, 6th Ed.
(REF TK5105.875.I57G7 2002) - Microsoft Press Computer Dictionary, 3rd Ed.
(REF QA76.15.M54 1997)
Contains over 7600 terms and definitions along with over 300 illustrations and diagrams. Updates available on the WWW at the Microsoft Press website. - Prentice Hall's Illustrated Dictionary of Computing.
(REF QA76.15.N33 1998)
Contains over 5500 terms and definitions. In addition, the work attempts to explain why certain abbreviations and acronyms are used and to offer a style manual to help you understand the correct usage of a term.
Electrical Engineering
- Electrical Engineer's Reference Book
(REF TK145.E36 1993)
Covers the general background, fundamentals, and range of materials encountered in electrical engineering. It also describes the various methods for producing power generation, transmission and distribution. - Encyclopedia of Electronics
(REF TK7804.E47 1990)
This encyclopedia presents a collection of high-tech terminology in electronics and related electronics subjects fields. A sample of these includes LED's, liquid crystals, integrated circuits, micro-controllers, compact disks, cellular radio, communications satellites, dynamic memory and laser printers. Drawings and photographs are included with each entry. - How Radio Signals Work: All the Basics Plus Where to Find Out More
(TK9956 .S56 1997) - How Semiconductors
Are Made
This web site from the Harris Corporation details the many steps and processes used to fabricate integrated circuit chips. - How Wireless Works
(TK5103.2.G73 2002)
This book demystifies how wireless technologies work, including basic technologies, radio, television, cellular telephones and pagers, wireless networks and the wireless internet. - Oscilloscopes: How to Use Them, How They Work
(TK 7878.7 .H53 2001 and other editions) - Telecommunication Transmission Handbook
(REF TK5101.F66 1991)
A complete collection of telecommunication concepts and devices from simple telephone connections and multiplexing techniques to satellite communications and radio system design above 10 GHz and much more. Drawings and charts accompany the text in each chapter.
Mechanical Engineering
- Automotive Principles and Service
(REF TL145.T337 1994)
Designed to show how modern automotive systems work, how they interact, how they affect each other, and how to diagnose and service them. - How Steam Locomotives Really Work
(TJ605 .S46 2000) - Mark's Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers
(REF TJ151.M37 1996)
A collection of established practice combined with new concepts and developments in all areas of mechanical engineering. A sample of coverage ranges from mechanics of solids and fluids, thermodynamics, and machine elements to power generation, shop processes, fans, pumps and compressors, and instruments and controls. - Mechanical Design Handbook
(REF TJ230.M433 1996)
This title focuses on the theoretical design treatments of mechanism and machinery. Some of the concepts discussed include the design of digital controls, the elastohydrodynamic approach to the film lubrication of bearings, gears and traction drives, the application of computer-aided design, CAD/CAM and the use of robotics in automation. - Mechanical Engineer's Reference Book
(REF TJ151.M397 1994)
An extremely wide-ranging work analyzing major aspects of mechanical engineering principles, designs, and manufacturing. Other areas include: microprocessors, instrumentation and control; computers and their applications; materials, properties and selection; alternative energy sources; offshore engineering. - Pictorial Handbook of Technical Devices
(REF TJ240.G7)
Any technical device described in this book comes with a collection of pictures along with information explaining the operational process. A sample of coverage includes machine technology, magnetics and electronics, light and optics, power generation, structural engineering, and transducers.
